17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies

17 Apr 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.

From the second the first track Open Your Eyes starts, Nicole’s voice starts playing over a softly played piano. One name springs to mind and that would be of the late but still great Amy Winehouse, now I’m not saying Nicole sounds exactly like the late soul singer but she has the same quality to her voice that complements lyrics such as “she danced and sung and took the pills down, the mask she wore was hiding her frown” so unbelievably well.

Another track I want to talk about is I’ve Reached The Bottom - this is a slower song filled with almost mourning melodic notes that hint at a similar vocal style of early Adele.
This song struck a chord with me in such a beautifully emotional way that I simply could not find the words to fully describe it, but instead I insist that you simply go listen to it yourself “it’s an awful day, when you can’t stand the pain, sitting around, will make you go insane.”

Honestly it’s not very often that I can’t find the words to describe a piece of music, but that’s what this track has done to me, it’s amazing and my personal favourite on the entire album.

Track number 6 on the album is titled Have Some Love and the message I took way from listening to this one is that the first (and every) time that everyone goes through dark times in their lives - while people around you might be trying to help they can only do so much but the people who love and care about you will always remind you that you are loved; “Mother oh Mother, Please take my hand, I’ll help you through this battle land. Sister, daughter, your best friend, It’s strength and love we send, to you, so, have some love.”
I’d love for others to listen to this track and tell me what they took away from it.

I could honestly write about every single track on the album however, for my last I’ve picked the final track titled Sober.
Sober is another track that left me somewhat confused about how it made me initially feel, the line “spend all your days wasted and hazy, thinking about the change.” And while I need to point out that it’s not a healthy lifestyle and in no way do I encourage it, I’m sure that there’s a few of us out there who can put their hands up and admit that they’ve accidentally slipped into “the haze” once or twice in life.

In short Dark Lullabies by Moonflower has definitely made me feel and think about a lot of things and I highly recommend that you listen to and buy this album, I need to congratulate Moonflower on such an amazing debut album.

Listen/buy Dark Lullabies on Reverbnation or Bandcamp

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Moonflower

Moonflower is singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap, accompanied by musicians Josh Fairless (guitar) Ethan Bryant (keys) and Damon Thurlow (bass).

With huge belting vocals and a tight band, Moonflower creates a unique and exciting sound inspired by 60's and 70's soul/rock and blues.

The original songs have deeper meanings and sometimes a dark twist. Moonflower always throw in a few classic covers like White Rabbit and I Put a Spell on You, to honour the greats.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Moonflower

Releases

Dark Lullabies
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem