20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space

16 May 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name.

Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow. So much work has gone into the production of this EP, and there's a lot of emotion within the lyrics of each and every song.

My favourite song on this EP is Attracted To The Pain. This song honestly gave me physical chills and sent shivers down my spine.
Bittercup lists Tool as an influence and you can hear it clearly in Attracted To The Pain; from the melody in the guitars right down to the way the song itself is written. The line "You cry to me again; I’m attracted to the pain. I’m self-aware, like an invisible man who knows that he isn’t there" actually gave me goose bumps.

I’m encouraging each and every person who reads this review to PLEASE go and listen to this EP and to follow Bittercup on Facebook - keep an eye on when they’re playing near you because I imagine that seeing a live Bittercup performance would be a deeply emotional and worthwhile experience.


Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Bittercup

He’s frail, like a buttercup, but he’s not happy about it.

Bittercup is the personal catharsis machine of Callum Wagstaff. He hates himself and has found people enjoy the fruits of his shameful confessions, related in sweet serenades, intense outbursts and rarely anything in between.

Bittercup (Wagstaff) started out fronting a band of the same name in 2015 before ailing health and renal dialysis forced him to give it up. Despite that he continued to write music and work the New Plymouth scene as regularly as he could in local cover bands Dodgy Jack (drums), The Feelgood Beatdown (Guitar) and Shed: The Tool Tribute (Vocals).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bittercup

Releases

Negative Space
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem