7 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye

10 Sep 2019 // A review by DemonsDigest
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.

Sparkle In My Eye is the anticipated follow up EP to Jarni’s debut EP (Between Two Dreams) which was released in 2016, so let’s dive in and discover what Jarni has come up with this time.

I feel compelled to talk about the opening track on the EP, Better Me. The imagery the lyrics “and the words that you spoke, cut straight through the smoke. Now that I’m clean, you won’t be dreaming of a better me” create are of someone who has struggled with inner demons from a possible addiction, but they’ve made the conscious decision to get themselves clean and break free, but not before the possibility of losing a relationship.

This track is beautifully written, and the brief guitar solo is something to be admired. The guitars in this track are reminiscent of the legendary Santana, and the comparison is a very high compliment.

The other track that is worthy of a mention was the title track Sparkle In My Eye. Once again the guitars were captivating with an instant feel of Carlos Santana that demands your immediate attention. While this track has a completely different overall feeling, the lyrics are still able to somewhat tie into the feeling that Better Me gave me.

Based on the lyrics, I felt as though that Better Me is about breaking free of drug addiction and Sparkle In My Eye is about breaking free of an addiction to a particular person, and this makes them both very compelling to listen to.

Jarni isn’t afraid to openly write about personally heavy themes rather than thinly hidden ones, which I find refreshing as you don’t come across that very often. This increases my respect for him even more.

I believe Sparkle In My Eye is a great accomplishment for Jarni Blair.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By DemonsDigest

Lasair - Single Review: House Of Cards
01 Nov 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Hamilton, the artist known as Lasair (AKA George Dryburgh) has recently released his new single and video for House Of Cards from his upcoming album Lessons. From the very first beat I was instantly reminded of Metro Station, however, the overall 80's synth-pop sound is where the similarities between the two acts end.
Read More...
EP Review: Goodspace
16 Oct 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums. I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by DemonsDigest
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
View All Articles By DemonsDigest

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem