29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No

16 May 2019 // A review by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.

Oh Yeah Oh No is a song that I would not recommend playing while trying to do other stuff because, if you’re anything like me then you’ll inevitably become very distracted and just end up listening to the song - although that isn’t a bad thing.

Trying to pinpoint an exact genre for this song is extremely difficult because I can hear so many different influences that The Gemini Effect blend so effortlessly together, which makes this track an attractive feast for the ears.

If you’ve got a spare 3-minutes (or even if you don’t, you should definitely set some time aside) you need check out Oh Yeah Oh No, as well as their outstanding debut album Atomic Blues.


Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Gemini Effect

The Gemini Effect are an alternative rock band from the creative hotbed of Auckland’s North Shore. Their style is hard to pin down. There are elements of indie/alternative rock mixed in with psych rock, blues and punk, and touching on electronica.

Their latest album Bad Alien, diversifies the sound even further, following last years release of their debut Atomic Blues. It was recorded at the Depot Studio in Devonport with the impressive Morgan Allen producing. The project is the brainchild of Torbay local, Rob Sharp. The band features Rob on vocals and guitars, Chris Nicholson on bass with Kayne Wilkinson on drums. With the album finished the band are busy delivering the new songs live.
Bad Alien is due for release in June, with Little Mouse breaking out as the first single release.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Gemini Effect

Releases

Atomic Blues
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By DemonsDigest

Lasair - Single Review: House Of Cards
01 Nov 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Hamilton, the artist known as Lasair (AKA George Dryburgh) has recently released his new single and video for House Of Cards from his upcoming album Lessons. From the very first beat I was instantly reminded of Metro Station, however, the overall 80's synth-pop sound is where the similarities between the two acts end.
Read More...
EP Review: Goodspace
16 Oct 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums. I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.
Read More...
Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by DemonsDigest
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
View All Articles By DemonsDigest

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem