28 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok

07 Mar 2019 // A review by DemonsDigest
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.

Consisting of Chris Bull on vocals, Samuel Keen on drums and vocals, Michael Gibbs on guitars and Sam Grueber on bass, The Snake Behaviour refer to themselves as “swoon rockers with a social conscious” and that is very apparent from this track alone. Ragnarok is the Nordic version of the Christian Armageddon and every note of this song seems to manifest that, making it unmistakable what this song is portraying.

This track fits in so well with what the band is about which is evidenced in the lyrics “walk the road of ignorance, silent sounds of consequence, it’s over now, my hands are glued, humanity belongs to you.”

With the perfect blend of hard rock meets edgy punk, I recommend you do yourself a favour and check out this incredible track, or better yet, keep an eye out and go see The Snake Behaviour live - I imagine they put on one hell of a show.

Ragnarok is available now from Spotify.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Snake Behaviour

Coming out of the abyss, Christchurch rockers The Snake Behaviour have gone from strength to strength over the last few years and quickly become a must see live act. With a history in excess of 14 years they have been a long time staple of the Christchurch music landscape, and the release of their 2015 single Ragnarok, announced the band as a legitimate force in the local scene.

Built on a bed of thunder from their head splitting engine room in the form of bassist Sam Grueber and drummer Samuel Keen, and the classic heavy rock riffs of tallismanic guitarist Michael Gibbs, the band has evolved to pioneer their own brand of music, part heavy rock, part metal, and, with the influence of long time front man Chris Bull, part punk as well. The Snake Behaviour are that band that have their backs against the wall, but plenty of F#$k you ready to fly.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Snake Behaviour

Releases

Serpent Psychology
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By DemonsDigest

Lasair - Single Review: House Of Cards
01 Nov 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Hamilton, the artist known as Lasair (AKA George Dryburgh) has recently released his new single and video for House Of Cards from his upcoming album Lessons. From the very first beat I was instantly reminded of Metro Station, however, the overall 80's synth-pop sound is where the similarities between the two acts end.
Read More...
EP Review: Goodspace
16 Oct 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums. I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.
Read More...
Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by DemonsDigest
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
View All Articles By DemonsDigest

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem