17 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand

24 Mar 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong

Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand.

Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career? Well I definitely would have. One Night Stand is a follow up to Craig’s first album Good News (read my review of the single Just Like Yesterday from that album here), and I was definitely excited to review his latest album.

Craig has previously said that one band which has been big influence on him musically is The Beatles, and that is very apparent from the title track One Night Stand. I really like that it sounds as though it’s been recorded live, Craig has told me that about 5 different sound effects were cut and mixed together just like The Beatles did in Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and that not only that, but he also recorded the lead vocals at 5am so that he sounded tired in order to give it more of an authentic “live sound”.

I also find the opening line, which is “hello good evening, let me introduce the band”, be a nice little touch as it brings to mind images of lounge bands in Las Vegas back in the 80's or 90's.

Whatever You Do is a catchy song that (should you listen carefully to the lyrics) will give you a couple of laughs while also proving that there are still people out there who have nothing but support for those who are important in their lives, this line in particular managed to get a laugh “you want to be a surgeon, you say you have what it takes. You could end up killing your patients, but everyone makes mistakes.” The track itself has a very uplifting beat that flows well alongside the lyrics and, remember that “whatever you do is fine.”

There is one track I absolutely have to talk about and that would Nineteen Sixty-Five, hands down this one is my absolute favourite from the entire album (and quite possibly my favourite song of his overall). I couldn’t tell you exactly what it is I love about this song in particular, is it how smooth the backing tracks are? Is it the fact the song reminds me of my own nights out that haven’t exactly gone to plan? Or could it be that in this song he makes a direct reference to my favourite Beatles song, Helter Skelter, with the line “spent the night together in a London bus shelter, helter skelter on the radio everybody was feeling low.”

The final song I want to talk about is Rockin' And Rolling, it’s got that uniquely classic rock vibe that Craig does so well, and it has almost a ballad feel to it with the way he sings and the slower tempo plus the line “I was sorting through my memories, of how I always thought it had to be” gives it a “break up” sort of feel to it, which all the best ballads were written about right?

One Night Stand is set for release April 1st and will be available to purchase at iTunes, Amazon and Google Play.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

One Night Stand
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Good News
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem