21 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodspace - EP Review: Goodspace

16 Oct 2019 // A review by DemonsDigest

Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums.

I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.

With my online stalking of the band failing, it would seem that they haven’t been around for that long (the earliest post I could find on their Facebook page was from April this year), yet the release of their current EP appears to have been greatly anticipated.

The opening track on the EP Don’t Want No One To Know is lyrically interesting. The opening line is rather leading and causes the listener to question as to what the doubts are about and encourages them to continue listening in the hopes of possibly finding out what those doubts are about.

The second track I'd like to talk about is Underneath. In my opinion this is possibly the darkest song on the album and while listening to the lyrics, my mind couldn't help but imagine a possible music video. The lyrics “I took the money, I ain’t coming back. I gotta go, I’ve gotta get all packed. So many voices right behind my back” gives the idea of someone running away from an unknown situation, which makes this particular track somewhat relatable for me.

Overall this EP has the ability to send the listener (at least this one) into an almost dream like state while the tracks have the ability to play out like miniature videos in their heads. Goodspace has a raw, grainy vibe to it which makes for easy listening and an instant likeability.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodspace

Goodspace make music from their goodspace to take you to your goodspace.

You might describe their sound as lo-fi, indie, brit rock with hints of hip-hop and songwriter sensibilities evoking artists like: Damon Albarn, Massive Attack, Radiohead ad Tune-Yards.

Based in Auckland and forming in 2019, the 3-piece promptly self-released one eponymous EP and are releasing their second album (Under the Loquat Tree) on the 8th May, 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodspace

Releases

Under The Loquat Tree
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Goodspace
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By DemonsDigest

Lasair - Single Review: House Of Cards
01 Nov 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Hamilton, the artist known as Lasair (AKA George Dryburgh) has recently released his new single and video for House Of Cards from his upcoming album Lessons. From the very first beat I was instantly reminded of Metro Station, however, the overall 80's synth-pop sound is where the similarities between the two acts end.
Read More...
Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by DemonsDigest
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
View All Articles By DemonsDigest

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem