20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces

24 Jun 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.

Eyreton Hall is primarily (although they do play with other members and special guests) made up of Andrew Keegan and Toni Randle originally hail from Sydney and Christchurch, and currently reside in Auckland.  I found their sound to be refreshingly different.

I sat down to listen to their latest album Spaces with no previous knowledge of them, so I had no idea what to expect and I can honestly tell you I loved it.

Albatross is the current single release off this album, I found it to be wonderfully melodic and very visually descriptive, the chorus in particular “so you are the albatross, came down in the caul of love, derived from Prometheus, a sailor with a swallow tattoo, many miles brought you here to us.” Albatrosses are big birds, so the imagery of the chorus is particularly striking for me personally, and I can almost smell the sea air while picturing it.

Constant is another song that I was drawn to from the second it started playing. Toni’s voice beautifully flows over a slower tempo with lyrics that appear to be filled with sorrow, repeatedly asking the question that we’ve all asked ourselves from time to time “who will be my constant?”
It tugs at the heartstrings in the best way, and then, just when you think it couldn’t possibly get any better, the violin kicks in and it lifts the track to an entirely new level.

Goodnight is another amazing track, it has a more upbeat tempo than the other previously mentioned tracks, and it somewhat reminds me of Mumford & Sons. I found the lyrics to be rather cheeky causing me to chuckle while listening to it “tomorrow you’ll be restless you’ll be chaffing at the bit, I’ll put panties in your pocket and a promise on your lips.”

Do yourself a favour and take the time to listen to Eyreton Hall's new album - you won't regret it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Eyreton Hall

Andrew Keegan and Toni Randle are the art folk duo, Eyreton Hall.

From different parts of the antipodes, Toni was born in Christchurch and Andy in Sydney. Toni had a misspent youth filled with dancing, singing and piano lessons. Andy played big band drums and busked every weekend. It was only natural that the world of folk would start to call to them.

Their worlds collided at the Sydney Conservatorium where both were studying that lesser-known folk sub genre – jazz. At 19 (Andy) and 21 (Toni) a musical partnership was formed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eyreton Hall

Releases

Spaces
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Featherstitch
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem