5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces

24 Jun 2019 // A review by DemonsDigest
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.

Eyreton Hall is primarily (although they do play with other members and special guests) made up of Andrew Keegan and Toni Randle originally hail from Sydney and Christchurch, and currently reside in Auckland.  I found their sound to be refreshingly different.

I sat down to listen to their latest album Spaces with no previous knowledge of them, so I had no idea what to expect and I can honestly tell you I loved it.

Albatross is the current single release off this album, I found it to be wonderfully melodic and very visually descriptive, the chorus in particular “so you are the albatross, came down in the caul of love, derived from Prometheus, a sailor with a swallow tattoo, many miles brought you here to us.” Albatrosses are big birds, so the imagery of the chorus is particularly striking for me personally, and I can almost smell the sea air while picturing it.

Constant is another song that I was drawn to from the second it started playing. Toni’s voice beautifully flows over a slower tempo with lyrics that appear to be filled with sorrow, repeatedly asking the question that we’ve all asked ourselves from time to time “who will be my constant?”
It tugs at the heartstrings in the best way, and then, just when you think it couldn’t possibly get any better, the violin kicks in and it lifts the track to an entirely new level.

Goodnight is another amazing track, it has a more upbeat tempo than the other previously mentioned tracks, and it somewhat reminds me of Mumford & Sons. I found the lyrics to be rather cheeky causing me to chuckle while listening to it “tomorrow you’ll be restless you’ll be chaffing at the bit, I’ll put panties in your pocket and a promise on your lips.”

Do yourself a favour and take the time to listen to Eyreton Hall's new album - you won't regret it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Eyreton Hall

Andrew Keegan and Toni Randle are the art folk duo, Eyreton Hall.

From different parts of the antipodes, Toni was born in Christchurch and Andy in Sydney. Toni had a misspent youth filled with dancing, singing and piano lessons. Andy played big band drums and busked every weekend. It was only natural that the world of folk would start to call to them.

Their worlds collided at the Sydney Conservatorium where both were studying that lesser-known folk sub genre – jazz. At 19 (Andy) and 21 (Toni) a musical partnership was formed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eyreton Hall

Releases

Spaces
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Featherstitch
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By DemonsDigest

Lasair - Single Review: House Of Cards
01 Nov 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Hamilton, the artist known as Lasair (AKA George Dryburgh) has recently released his new single and video for House Of Cards from his upcoming album Lessons. From the very first beat I was instantly reminded of Metro Station, however, the overall 80's synth-pop sound is where the similarities between the two acts end.
Read More...
EP Review: Goodspace
16 Oct 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums. I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.
Read More...
Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by DemonsDigest
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
View All Articles By DemonsDigest

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem