4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light

27 Feb 2011 // A review by BrendaF

This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.

This album did surprise me with the professionalism, strong work ethic and a natural flow that shines through. I really felt that this group believes in what they are singing and the messages behind each song. The vocals, while not overpowering, were strong and the harmonies were well thought out.

This is not surprising after reading their principles that they follow. These include empowerment and self-determination that is strongly apparent in the lyrics.

The album opens with the title track "From Darkness to Light" which starts off quite R&B and soulful. Part way through, it changes (very successfully) to a reggae base but still maintaining that dub feeling. The lyrics induced hope and a strong belief in oneself.

"Turn the Music Up" was another stand out track for me. I found the small run of a cappella chords within the song a pleasant surprise. This is a track that would be great to socialise with.

Not often do I come across with an album with a mixture of languages and cultures, but I found the track "Nohau Te Ao" in Te Reo quite melodic and uplifting. It fitted well within the overall presentation of the album and it shows a strength, a belief, in ones self, culture and the desire to keep and show this beautiful language for what it is – truly a treasure.

NGR Rising are touring soon, so check out their page to see if they will be in your area. They definitely a group to see.

From Darkness To Light
View Track Listing
 

About NRG Rising

NRG Rising is the world’s first mother and daughters trio to front fresh, fun and conscious reggae, showcasing soulful vocals & soothing harmonies. NRG Rising's fresh, female reggae has two main themes; one of fun, good times and love, and the other sharing messages that support self determination through personal development, including messages of belief, strength, and understanding. The debut album “From Darkness To Light” rings true to the two main themes, containing celebratory, upbeat melodies, heart-warming vibes and thought-provoking lyrics that are sure to become quick favourites.

Within their first 18 months, this energetic, entertaining and driven band achieved many musical milestones, including the following highlights;

• Performed 52 gigs, 36 of these being NRG Rising signature gigs

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for NRG Rising

Releases

From Darkness To Light
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem