30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review

04 Apr 2010 // A review by BrendaF

When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres.

I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well. Claire Holmes' vocals are reminiscent of R&B/Blues genre and to a degree, the majority of the tracks on this album do have that slow paced, easy going element but with an up-lifting melody.

'El Roboto' had strings of electronica throughout the track but they were very subtle. 'Disney Love' had a very dominant ethnic underline which reminded me of something out of Bollywood.

I found that 'Honey Bee' had a very hip hop/street, earthy and dirty kind of feel to the track and 'Like No One Else' had moments of big band beats which I thought were going to explode through the speakers, however, they remained quite mellow. The saxophone solo was well executed on this track as well.

'Pieces of Eight' had me dreaming of a Jamaican holiday with its steel drums and reggae sound.

It is hard to pin Farmer Pimp to a specific genre and I thinks that this works well for this group. They can just concentrate on being Farmer Pimp.

Overall, it is a very easy listening, pleasant little album; however, nothing really stands out for me.

 

About Farmer Pimp

Farmer Pimp are about to emerge from a writing and recording hiatus that sees them presenting their finest material yet with their debut album 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' due for release 26 April 2010.

Locally loved and applauded for their dynamic live shows, and unique and innovative blending of musical genres, Farmer Pimp have pushed the envelope once again.

Formed at music school 6 years ago, Farmer Pimp is the creative partnership of Mark Michel (songwriter/producer) and Claire Holmes (songwriter/singer), with band: prominent local musicians John-Paul Muir (songwriter/keys), and Glen Child (drums), with a host of the countries best string and horn players and sections adding depth and lushness to their live performances.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Farmer Pimp

Releases

Sweet Hot Pepper Pop
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem