27 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

These Four Walls - Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls

29 Sep 2009 // A review by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.

I have to say that despite the long wait, it was worth it and These Fall Walls deliver an album packed full with commercial tracks while retaining a sense of trueness and diversity.

The album opens with ‘One Moment In Time’ which grabs you straight away with the opening riff and is just infectious with its “scream from the roof top” backing vocals.

The next single ‘Sweet December’ has recently been released as a single and is making headways in the charts. This is followed by ‘Lay It Out’ which slows the tempo right down and then brings back the rock beat intermittently.

Of course, successful tracks ‘Walk Away’; ‘Under The Shadows’ and ‘Fly Home’ all appear on the album.

The final track of the album ‘To The Loved And Lost’ starts slowly and is very melodic and showcases Steve’s vocal ability. It then builds up to a great mellow bassline and strong riffs. This would have to be my favourite of all the tracks.

All 12 songs fit together exceptionally well and you get a real sense of the band, their connection with each other and with you, the listener. This is one album worth the wait.
 

About These Four Walls

These Four Walls are a hard rock band originally formed in Auckland, New Zealand and now based on Queensland’s Gold Coast. They’ve recorded and released two full-length albums, Down Falls an Empire (2009) and Living to Write the End (2012), with their third album This Is Not A Future due for release on 24 April, 2020.

The band are well-known in both Australia and New Zealand for their live shows, which are typically tight, heavy and high-powered performances punctuated by powerful melodic vocals from singer Steve Gibb. Their well-earned reputation as a powerhouse live act has earned the band support slots for several touring international acts including Disturbed (USA), Nickelback (CAN), Trivium (USA), Seether (SA), P.O.D. (USA), Fuel (USA), Theory of A Deadman (CAN) and Trapt (USA), as well as top Australian rock acts Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect, and Kiwi bands such as Devilskin and Blacklistt.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for These Four Walls

Releases

This Is Not A Future
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Live At Loose Stones Studios
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Living To Write The End
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Down Falls An Empire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
These Four Walls
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem