26 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle

29 Sep 2009 // A review by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully.

This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries. Be prepared to let go of what you know or what you think a genre should sound like.

The first track on the album ‘Waters’ has a strong acoustic sound and relies on Mara’s vocals to draw you in. It is just mesmerizing.

The second track is ‘Gimme That Kinda’ which has a Caribbean feel bassline to it. The next track ‘Perception’ deviates from what was previous with a more psychedelic rhythm and has an interesting drum set at the end. Both these tracks have had international radio support.

Other stand out tracks for me were ‘Again’ with its haunting undertones and ‘Burn’ with David Lange’s 'No Nuke' speech opening the track and features Billy TK. This track has more of a rock jazz feel to it and it works well together.

This album deserves recognition, as all 13 tracks are strong, unique and well thought out. This is soul, this is slick, and this is groove at its best.
 

About Electric Wire Hustle

With their debut self-titled album Electric Wire Hustle achieved cult status. A number one song on Hype Machine, five-star reviews from the likes of Okayplayer, and BBC Radio support from Gilles Peterson and Benji B secured them unwavering support internationally with a flood of production requests following.

Their sophomore album Love Can Prevail has continued the trend, winning best electronic album at the 2015 New Zealand Music Awards. Added to that is previous support from The New York Times and Wax Poetics, making The Listeners Top 10 albums of 2014 and winning the official stamp of approval of Questlove, The Roots and their imprint Okayplayer Records who alongside Somethink Sounds released the album in September of that year.

Demand for their live show has seen EWH perform in 18 countries, appearing at festivals such as Glastonbury, Dour, Sonar, Sziget, SXSW, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide, New York’s CMJ and The Roots Picnic.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Electric Wire Hustle

Releases

The 11th Sky
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Aeons
Year: 2015
Type: EP
If These Are The Last Days
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Love Can Prevail
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Experience
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Electric Wire Hustle
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem