30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Simon Spire - Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing

21 May 2009 // A review by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together.

The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.

The middle of the album is a lot slower and includes the track which has been receiving a lot of airtime ‘Hiding So Long’ which is a great little pop ballad. ‘Dying Daily’ and ‘Sweet release’ are tracks which are more suited to Simon’s vocal styling. Very easy listening and rich with well written lyrics.

‘You, You, You’ and ‘All or Nothing’ rounds out the album with grassy, rich rock riffs with a mellow bass undertone.

This is an album that grows on you the more it is played and after a while, your toes are tapping and your singing along.
 

About Simon Spire

He calls himself a New Yorklander. Having lived in New York since 2008, Simon Spire has found familiarity amongst the bustle of Brooklyn and its spirited streets, his love of the city making it feel like a place he can call home outside of his native New Zealand. It is also the city that inspired the writing of his second full-length album, Four-Letter Words, recorded in a nearby Manhattan studio.

“I’m always interested in where humanity is going, and for that reason I love being in New York – I’ve often thought of it as being at the forefront of the continuing cultural evolution,” says Simon. “In that sense, I want to be part of a new vision, taking part in where we’re going next. I wanted Four-Letter Words to be relevant not just on a personal level, but also collectively.”

It was 2008 when his debut album, All Or Nothing, established the Auckland-born singer/songwriter as a diverse talent with the ability to skip between energetic powerpop, rock’n'roll and lush balladry. His sincere songwriting style and earnest vocals combined to make songs that were engagingly personal and impressively crafted, while also providing a platform to showcase his unique guitar styling.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Simon Spire

Releases

Four-Letter Words
Year: 2011
Type: Album
All Or Nothing
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem