18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nadine Loren - Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland

12 Jan 2010 // A review by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.

I wasn’t too sure what to expect, after reading her bio which describes her music as folk, electronic, pop and rock music and with lyrics in three different languages.

The album starts off with the track “Cyberspace” which is light and uplifting and the count down throughout the song is a refreshing change despite lyrics talking of relationship failures. This sets up the album and gives you a real sense of what you are about to listen to

The next track worth mentioning for me is “Wonderland” which introduces the European flavour with lyrics in English, French and Italian. This adds a real spice to the track and the underlining electronic bass is infectious. This song has received international recognition.

“Blue Sky” is another track that stands out with a change in tempo. This is a lot slower and the lyrics seem to go deeper into Nadine’s soul. You can hear the heart and emotion in her voice and it just draws you in.

I have to say that I was impressed with the overall layout of this album and it’s a great little listen.
 

About Nadine Loren

Nadine Loren is a Swiss-born Kiwi singer/songwriter who is now based in LA.

Nadine attributes her unique style to her upbringing in both Germany and New Zealand. A true artist, Nadine combines musical genres, fusing various styles with an obvious European influence. Living in Wonderland has certainly struck a chord with American alt-pop radio listeners after being released in the states earlier this year, and was nominated for "Best Pop Album of the Year" at the 2009 LA Music Awards.

Nadine's songs combine folk, electronic, pop and rock music elements and feature English, French and Italian lyrics that utilise operatic influences to add a quirky theatricality to her melodies. Album tracks ‘Wonderland’ and ‘Look Me In The Diamonds’, were recently picked up for a European compilation entitled Bad Girls Don't Cry also featuring Duffy, Ayo, and Amy Winehouse. Two of Nadine’s tracks were also remixed and included in the House Music compilation The Adventures of Poncho Warwick, and have been played in clubs of London, Paris, Hungary, Romania, California, Chicago and Vancouver.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nadine Loren

Releases

The Naked '80's
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Living In Wonderland
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem