17 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gimar - Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'

11 Aug 2009 // A review by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.

Gimar is a shining example of this. His lyrics come deep from inside, choosing to rap about debts, relationships and his general life instead of the “glorified lifestyle” usually associated with this genre. There are no apologies for his up-front delivery and it comes across strong and focused.

This is a slick, well -put together album that doesn’t have problems combining rock, pop and jazz bass beats. Stand out tracks for me were ‘Kool Rider’ with its hard hitting, catchy beats; ‘Just Like You’ with its piano underline and its slower pace; and ‘Whats It All About’ which featured Fresh and Elvee (Ghetto Klownz) whose vocals complimented Gimar’s.

I don’t believe it will be long until we will see this artist in the mainstream charts. This is a great album.
 

About Gimar

GIMAR is an MC/producer from Auckland city. Blessed with a crystal clear flow & eclectic production, GIMAR writes reality driven lyrics devoid of the “glorified themes” usually found in the hip hop genre.


As a 1/3 member of the Grey Lynn based crew Tha Storytellaz, GIMAR has been writing and recording music since late 2004. He has independently released two mixtapes with his Storytellaz crew and recently released three street albums in two years as a solo artist.
 


GIMAR’s motto for his music is simple: “only spit it if you’ve lived it”. With commercial hip hop artists pushing glorified themes of guns, drugs, & hoe’s, GIMAR prefers to rap about topics significant to his own life, such as work, debts, relationships, music, and in general, life on the ‘grind’.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gimar

Releases

On My Own Buzz
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Grind Hustle
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Grind City
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
Album Review: Simon Spire – All or Nothing
21 May 2009 // by BrendaF
Simon Spire’s debut album is an evocative album filled with different genres that seem to fit really well together. The album starts with tracks ‘Inside Out’ and ‘More or Less’ which both have a rock n roll bass line which firstly I found quite off-putting as they just jump straight out at you but after listening to the album several times, I actually quite liked that about them.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem