21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Eqwanox - Live at the Royal - Palmerston North 12/06/10

28 Jun 2010 // A review by JohnS

Another cold night out and about in the swamp and once again I’m heading out to the Royal. Many nights of my youth have been spent at this bar and the atmosphere has not changed a bit. Still the same brick covered wars, stage has not moved in decades with its dark little back bar, but I am not here to review the bar.

First to come onto stage is Streetlight Requiem. Hailing from Wellington this Punk three piece drilled out a powerful set including a cover of The Cure's 'Boys Who Cry'. Not bad for a group who have only been performing together since late 2008. It was a shame that the sound being produced had the bass out shadowing the grunchy guitar licks that I had to get closer to hear.

Up next was the biggest disappointment I have seen his year, and the fact they were a local band, made it worse. Cervix, took forever to set up, messing around onstage and their performance was not much better. I did hear some talented licks from the stage but it was overshadowed by the un-professionalism of the band. With most songs lasting about 90 seconds they were more a garage band than someone who deserved to be paid to be on stage.

Once that was over the Waikato boys whom I want to watch, walked onto stage. Eqwanox have a mixture of genres and will be going far in the New Zealand Music scene. Just having released their new album 'All Roads Lead To Here', they opened with a style and grace you would expect the headliners, and even after my spirits were dampened by the group before I felt revived for the opening song. Unfortunately the swamp did not come out for the night so the crowd was minimal but the boys still turned on the sounds. With a mix of songs from their previous albums as well as new tracks Eqwanox did not fail to perform.

If you get a chance to catch them live while they are touring I recommend going along.  Go out and buy their album or go see them live, well worth your time.

 

About Eqwanox

"The band strings together tight gripping melodies and strong vocals/backing vocals and produced one outrageously great album" – Muzic.net.nz

"I like the name Eqwanox, it’s spelt differently and that’s what you need, something that’s different from the rest so you can market the idea" - GILBY CLARKE (Guns N Roses//Rockstar Supernova)

EQWANOX are a Rock band from the Waikato with Punk, Grunge and Pop Rock elements.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eqwanox

Releases

All Roads Lead From Here
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem