21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review

25 Oct 2012 // A review by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books. Partially recorded on tour using a mobile studio while literally following the sun to LA, Buenos Aires, Paris, Jerusalem, Spain and Morocco. As quoted by Jon “It was an amazing trip, so many experiences I'll never forget… getting patted down for weapons by cops on the side of the freeway outside Los Angeles after we ran out of gas, getting completely lost in the maze of ancient streets and incredible food that is Marrakech. The trip added musical richness to the album and songs but ultimately we wrote more of the songs at home at our own studio, the Stables.”

While they are now a considered a veteran band its amazing to think that they are all still currently under 30 years of age and after an impressive string of chart topping hits, sold out tours and industry awards its mind blowing to consider the fact that there musical journey is still just beginning.

First up is A World Without You, a fantastic start to the album that has that classic Evermore sound which you just have to crank out loud. The title track Follow the Sun is up next which is a instant classic you’ll surely be hearing on on the radio waves in the next coming months as its the perfect summer song to crack while sipping a beer, waiting by the BBQ. My favorite track on the album is entitled We’ll Fly. I found myself singing along and hitting back to hear it again. It's the kind of song that you know the festival crowds are going to love that has a Coldplay flavour but is still uniquely Evermove.

This is going to be another great Kiwi (Yes Kiwi) album that you’ll love. I highly recommend to obtain this for your collection and to make sure you play it loud during these long summer nights.
Follow The Sun
View Track Listing
 

About Evermore

Most bands’ first experience of the European touring circuit involves a clapped out van and a handful of Wednesday night shows but then again, Evermore aren’t most bands. After supporting P!nk on her record-breaking Australian tour, she was so impressed by the band that her management specifically requested that Evermore join her on the European leg of her Funhouse juggernaut.

“Touring with P!nk has been great, playing in front of ten thousand people a night all over Europe has been amazing,” says vocalist and guitarist Jon Hume with typical ANZAC understatement. “This band has always been about the live experience and it’s great so many people are seeing what we’re all about.”

When the band – comprised of brothers Jon, Peter and Dann Hume (”some days you’d rather not spend 12 in a bus with your brothers, but you can’t always get what you want,” winks Jon) – first relocated from New Zealand to Australia, it became quickly evident what they were all about. Their 2004 debut, Dreams, introduced a young band with a preternatural grasp of pop melody and the ability to craft soulful, affecting songs. The plangent, yearning It’s Too Late (Ride On) from that record captured the listening public’s attention, spreading like wildfire across the Tasman and eventually all the way to the US, where the song featured on The O.C.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Evermore

Releases

Follow The Sun
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Evermore
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Unbreakable
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Into The Ocean
Year: 2006
Type: DVD
Real Life
Year: 2006
Type: Album
My Own Way
Year: 2004
Type: EP
Dreams
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Oil & Water
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem