31 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review

09 Sep 2012 // A review by JohnS

Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays. The album combines various sounds of rock, blues, jazz and more to deliver one of the easiest and enjoyable album I’ve heard in a while. 

Kicking off the album with 'Tell Me Who I Am' gives of a blues based rock feel with lyrics that give off a passionate but confident progression throughout the whole album. Following up with 'Time Flies' demonstrates Lamb’s vocal talent combined with a great backing track from her backing musicians that will get you nodding along in no time. Lamb then changes the flow with 'Undone', more of a sobering track with the addition of a assortment of wind and strings that add another level of goodness into the album. 

The rest of the album changes from 'Tripping The Light Fantastic' with its easy listing feel, 'Kill Me With Your Promise' delivering a more gritty rock to a more country laced theme with 'Cold Rainy Night' and 'Love’d Bayou'.

If you can, catch Julie Lamb live. I haven’t yet had the chance but you can be sure I’ll be there soon. If you get your hands on 'Trippin’ the Light' you’ll understand what my ears took pleasure in and continue to listen to on the daily commute to work.

Trippin' The Light
View Track Listing
 

About Julie Lamb

KICK-ARSE FUNKY POP: Get lost between the stories and the groove

"Anyone who has seen the Wellington-based Julie Lamb Outfit live, knows they are as tightly woven as that machine knitted jumper your mum made for you in the 70s - and keep you feeling just as warm." CLAIRE SYMONDS, FREELANCE JOURNALIST

The Julie Lamb Outfit is an 8 piece collaborative music family coaxing kick-arse funky pop music into the multiverse. Get lost between the stories and the groove and find yourself in a high energy smile-a-minute space.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

How Humans Think
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem