4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review

14 Oct 2011 // A review by JohnS

Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.

From Hell to Breakfast is jazz infused with funky riffs and lyrics reminiscent of the mid nineties acid jazz. Starting with 'So Cold' feat the vocal talents of Steve Tofa (The Mercenaries) and Feleti Strickson-Pua (Nesian Mystik), starts the album off in a laid back Sunday jam which continues in the second track 'Daydreaming' feat Choppa Weed. This is slightly up-tempo but has the same melodic jazz feel. Next follows my standout track of the album, 'Best Part Of A Nightmare' feat. Imagine This aka MC Bling. The flow has your head grooving along while being feed a treat of tightly knitted flow you only get when two minds are on the same page.

Track 4 entitled 'Song for George' is a funky instrumental which would be right at home as hold music for a government call centre. Lastly on the EP we have the Funk/Rock track entitled 'The Deferential' feat. Infinite Rensta. Unfortuantly it didn’t hit home with me as it was a little ‘weak’ so to speak.

In saying this, as a whole the EP is a great listen even thought it’s not going to be on the mainstream airwaves.

 

About DJ Definite

DJ DEFINITE bred and spread in Auckland, currently in Dunedin (Northland from January 2012).

Formerly of hip hop duo Definite & Bling.

Solo EP 'From Hell to Breakfast' released 2011.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DJ Definite

Releases

From Hell To Breakfast
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem