4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Known Associates - Known Associates: Penny Love

05 Jul 2011 // A review by JohnS

It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy? If you are like me these thoughts run through your head at full speed and if you haven’t heard of the group before then you may not give it a chance and those thoughts ran through my head upon sighting the album for the first time. To be honest my first impression was of a bunch of guys having drinks at someone’s house and having a jam session. Fortunately I gave them a good go and the cover suits the music they play, rock with a blues guitar edginess that make you sit up and say “Oh, yeah!”

Fronted by the well known Warren Cate, who supplies a vocal edge that gives you that deep blues tone driving it into your core and it really comes out in the second track, 'Mercy' and the following track 'Wishbone City'. Also giving you the grunt is guitarist Grant Wills thundering powerful tightly sparked solos as well as keeping the rhythm with bass player Andrew Buckton and Mike Franklin-Browne.

The album reflects how New Zealander's like to mix it up with reflections of 70’s and 80’s rock being run through your speakers. Anything from a Budgie to Motley Crüe could be referenced when describing the group.

If you like that classic sounding Rock/Blues sound then you wont be disappointed with this album. Give it a chance, I did and I liked it.  

 

About Known Associates

Known Associates are a New Zealand indie rock band hailing from Auckland.

Tapping into a classic twin guitar vibe, they swagger from alt country to snarling rock n roll.

The bands second album Ride the Wave was released in March 2020. Previous releases include the debut album Penny Love and subsequent EP Rebound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Known Associates

Releases

Ride the Wave
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Rebound
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Penny Love
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem