4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review

08 Oct 2012 // A review by JohnS

Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours. It’s a kooky CD with each song telling its own story that they are sure to remember, Especially my 7-year-old son who advised his class that he's "never going to sit under a poo tree!"

FleaBITE was born from the producer of Fatcat & Fishface who give a distinctive kiwi flavour, which has this reviewer reminiscing of sitting, by the radio on a Sunday morning as a child waiting for Spike Milligan to entertain me. FleaBITE continues the tradition of funny, entertaining and original music for children and is perfect for those long trips in the car heading on a holiday.

Stating the album off is the Title track Circus of Fleas, which caught the ears of my kids right away, keeping them hooked for the whole CD, which is a rare miracle. Even through it’s a album targeted at children, Musically it’s a brilliant mix of rock, country, funk and even a grooving reggae beat with Call Me Up that is surprisingly catchy.

I recommend getting this CD if you want something more musically intelligent for you children that’ll keep them entertained while not subjecting them to the repetitious kids music that is out there (You know what I’m talking about).

As they say, fleaBITE is guaranteed to get under your skin and have you itching for more!

I’ll leave you with another wonderful line from my boy while listening to this album. 

“Mum, you’re my sweetie pie, Aye”? Gold!

Circus Of Fleas
View Track Listing
 

About fleaBITE

"The perfect mix of entertainment, originality and intelligence for young kiwis".

Winner of 2013 BEST NZ CHILDREN'S ALBUM, fleaBITE has released three albums: THE JUNGLE IS JUMPING (2014), CIRCUS OF FLEAS (2012) and IN YOUR EAR (2011).

Check out our new animated video DON'T SIT UNDER THE POO TREE

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for fleaBITE

Releases

Bite Me
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Jungle Is Jumping
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Circus Of Fleas
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
In Your Ear
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem