25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review

11 May 2013 // A review by JohnS

School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.

Firstly some background; Hurricane Kids is a Power Pop band hailing from Auckland they bring together the combination of synths, electronic beats, pop song sensibility and the raw grunt of rock n roll guitars which meld together to form their unique sound. Forming in late 2012, they got to work right away with the release of their first single Tonight which kicks off the EP as the leading track which is the perfect choice for launching the Hurricane Kids towards fame. With a catchy tune and lyrics that were repeated by my boys, Tonight has instantly become the favourite track within the family vehicle. 

Following up next is Wild Side, which leads in with an alternative rock intro before breaking back into a punchy power pop track that follows up from Tonight perfectly. This track is excellent at holding your attention and makes you want more.

Make You Love Me keeps the album punching, and sounds like it’ll be the perfect follow up for radio play.

Track 4 entitled Stardust is a softer song but don’t get me wrong. It’s a power ballad that quickly became one of my favourite tracks with its catchy upbeat rhythm which is a great sing-a-long if you are that way inclined.

Rounding up the EP is the final track Everybody which sums up the EP with another great track and keeps the flow of the EP. This is such a great EP, and just as you are getting into it, it ends leaving you wanting more.

The whole album is absolutely enjoyable for all ages. Get ready to add the Hurricane Kids to your CD collection.

 

About Hurricane Kids

Hurricane Kids is a power Pop band hailing from Auckland on a singular mission to blow your speakers up. Made up of a tasty fruit bowl of members from musical backgrounds ranging from Jazz to Hardcore, Hurricane Kids have fused together on the common ground of making music that you can’t get out of your head. The combination of synths, electronic beats, pop song sensibility and the raw grunt of rock n roll guitars meld together to form their unique sound.

Hurricane Kids are dedicated to the development of their sound and building their fan base, both nationally and worldwide. The Hurricane Kids are here to bring the party back, and smash you in the face with happiness.

Karl now performs with Written By Wolves.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hurricane Kids

Releases

Live It Up
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnS

Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
Kidz In Space - Ghost Album Release Gig - Palmerston North 17 June 2011
26 Jun 2011 // by JohnS
The chilly, cold night is a constant companion as I head into Palmerston North to see Auckland based band Kidz in Space, on their third stop of their nation wide tour. Not only is this an all ages gig but it’s being held at the Palmerston North Convention Centre, a very unusual venue for a band to be playing.
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem