23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning

31 Aug 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name.

New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers. While the costuming and lighting are beautiful, I didn’t find the video to be hugely inspiring. It is a well shot performance of some impressive choreography but not something I would leave the tab open for if I was listening to the song on YouTube. However, it’s possible that the video would hold a deeper meaning had I seen the stage production.

The song itself begins quite epic-ly – it is strong and attention commanding from the beginning, even the title suggests this with its capitalisation. Bold drum strokes fall into a pop-py, upbeat tempo with the entry of the vocals.

The song builds to a chorus that is sombre and humble. The backing vocals at this point seem very powerful, I’d like to see that coming through a little bit more, as I feel it might emphasise the tangent of originality that the song seems to be pushing at.

I think that at its core Reckoning is a polished pop song that is definitely going to be stuck in my head for a while. The contemporary pop core is interwoven with elements of tradition. I really love hearing multiple languages in a song, especially one that will get radio play, as I'm sure this one will.
Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Samuel Gaskin

Creator & Change Agent, Samuel Gaskin has always been one to stand out in a crowd. Not only is he an accomplished Artist and Actor, he also runs his own company BEAT Entertainment, which specialises in bespoke creative solutions. His work Reckoning recently took out four Melbourne Fringe Awards including Best Emerging Indigenous Artist.

Supported by Wilin Centre (VCA & MCM) Market Ready Award
Supported by Regional Arts Victoria Emerging Company Incubator Award
Supported by Monash Centre for Theatre and Performance & Space Cadet Award

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Samuel Gaskin

Releases

There are no releases to display for Samuel Gaskin.

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - Single Review: Shinbone
15 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Poneke based Oh Sweet Nothings' new track Shinbone is exciting from the start. It is the first release to follow their debut EP Emergency Procedures, released in 2019.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem