23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.

GiGi Genie is the project of songstress GiGi with supporting band members Chris Ding and Michael Muggeridge.


The Phoenix
is an ethereal, eclectic collection of sounds, that really pushes the boundaries of what we consider to be “music”. There are strings, wind instruments, fire crackling, deep breaths and Gigi’s witchy yet gentle voice. It speaks to a very innate, shadowy side of human intuition that makes the trope of winter scary and threatening.


It’s really harrowing. And it’s obvious that it has been put together with nuanced care.

The given genre folk noir is snug fitting in that it is a darker, less comfortable form of minimally-accompanied storytelling that resonates within the folk genre.

This song is part of a four track EP that delivers a song for each season. The Phoenix is the first of the four tracks to be released and is, of course, the track that encompasses winter.

In Gigi’s own words "the season of turning within, reflecting and releasing, emotional death. The journey through intense growth and surrender through to liberation, a fiery 
rebirth".

I think that this is truly an original track and I'm eagerly awaiting the release of the next three.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About GiGi Genie

Let yourself be drawn into the raw world of folk noir with songstress GiGi Genie and band. Growth and empowerment ripple through the sounds of autoharp, guitar, mandolin and flute. Exploring our relationship with nature, being an evolving human and the expanding cosmos through delicate melodies, eclectic expression and intense crescendos.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for GiGi Genie

Releases

There are no releases to display for GiGi Genie.

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - Single Review: Shinbone
15 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Poneke based Oh Sweet Nothings' new track Shinbone is exciting from the start. It is the first release to follow their debut EP Emergency Procedures, released in 2019.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem