18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend

21 Sep 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned.

Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments. Steve Mathieson of
Lunavela has mentioned that it is about celebrating that awkward conversation of small talk in the pet food aisle of Countdown”, but my least favourite thing about those encounters is not the small talk itself, but seeing that same person again in the bread aisle, and by the milk, and in the carpark, and never knowing how to acknowledge those secondary interactions without regretting it afterwards. The line-up of this song, Alistair Deverick (Boycrush) on drums, Hannan Carter (Steriogram, NO) on the bass, and mixed by Ben Lawson, makes me excited about the full album which is due to be released later this year.

Musically this song gave me Front Bottoms vibes with its rolling drums (please don’t take this the wrong way I LOVE the Front Bottoms (or the14 year old in me does at least)). Overall, Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend is a simple song. It's pretty echo-dreamy in the vocals and it just rolls along like the monotony of the everyday life it describes. It really does shine through in the lyrics though, which makes it witty and fun. You’ll enjoy this track for sure.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lunavela

Lunavela is Steve Mathieson (ex-Collapsing Cities) and friends.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lunavela

Releases

Lunavela
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - Single Review: Shinbone
15 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Poneke based Oh Sweet Nothings' new track Shinbone is exciting from the start. It is the first release to follow their debut EP Emergency Procedures, released in 2019.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem