6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend

21 Sep 2021 // A review by bethany_rachell
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned.

Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments. Steve Mathieson of
Lunavela has mentioned that it is about celebrating that awkward conversation of small talk in the pet food aisle of Countdown”, but my least favourite thing about those encounters is not the small talk itself, but seeing that same person again in the bread aisle, and by the milk, and in the carpark, and never knowing how to acknowledge those secondary interactions without regretting it afterwards. The line-up of this song, Alistair Deverick (Boycrush) on drums, Hannan Carter (Steriogram, NO) on the bass, and mixed by Ben Lawson, makes me excited about the full album which is due to be released later this year.

Musically this song gave me Front Bottoms vibes with its rolling drums (please don’t take this the wrong way I LOVE the Front Bottoms (or the14 year old in me does at least)). Overall, Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend is a simple song. It's pretty echo-dreamy in the vocals and it just rolls along like the monotony of the everyday life it describes. It really does shine through in the lyrics though, which makes it witty and fun. You’ll enjoy this track for sure.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lunavela

Lunavela, AKA Auckland singer / songwriter, and former Collapsing Cities frontman, Steve Mathieson, is releasing the third single from his upcoming album, Imposter Syndrome on 25th February, 2022.

Mathieson draws his songwriting inspiration from exploring the things that most people think, but don’t want to say. “The more uncomfortable the lyrics make me feel, the better,” he says, and his latest offering stands true to this assertion, with the upbeat pop guitar juxtaposing the self-analytical, vulnerable lyrics.

Unconventionally, he says he usually starts with a song title and develops the idea from there, preferring to work within a 'theme' for his lyrics. Mathieson’s signature style seems to be setting those sticky observations that none of us like to make out loud to a catchy, upbeat backdrop, inviting his listeners to freely relate to the discomfort with a knowing smile and a tapping foot.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lunavela

Releases

Lunavela
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By bethany_rachell

Wiri Donna - EP Review: Being Alone
26 May 2022 // by bethany_rachell
It’s been two years since Wiri Donna’s first and only official release - a double single Manuka Money and Wandering Willies. Those who are in Wellington and have had the opportunity to see Wiri Donna live will be more accustomed to the heavier sound that they bring live.
Read More...
Mild Orange - Album Review: Looking For Space
13 Feb 2022 // by bethany_rachell
Mild Orange are back in New Zealand and back on the scene with their new album Looking For Space. Here is a breakdown of the key moments in the album.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by bethany_rachell
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
View All Articles By bethany_rachell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem