5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa

10 Sep 2021 // A review by bethany_rachell

One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.

Sitting in my lounge this morning, listening to this song through my humble laptop speakers, I became starchily aware of the 7-degree temperature and the 50kph winds trying to break through the single glazing.

This is a BIG SUMMER tune. It’s a cocktail-in-hand, dancing-with-someone-you-don't-know-on-the-beach tune.

Admittedly, I don't know much about Afrobeat or Afropop but D.Matthews makes it sound like a lot of fun. A self-described blend of traditional African elements with global mainstream pop, Africa is a genuinely uplifting and carefree song. The music is simple, catchy, and it doesn’t seem like it’s trying to be anything it’s not. As a vocalist D.Matthews is relaxed and charismatic, his voice makes me feel at ease. The vocal layering is creative, over a reggaeton beat with more dramatic horns in the breakdown.

Big party.

Surely to be on some festival line-ups over the summer, but I hope some of you are somewhere warm enough to enjoy it now.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About D.Matthews

Nigerian vocalist & songwriter, D.Matthews has curated his own brand of motivational & energetic calm Afrobeat & Afropop driven by the beats of Africa. He blends traditional African elements with global mainstream pop for a sound that's heartfelt and fascinating. His stage presence itself carries a lot of weight.

D.Matthews cites Afrobeat Music Pioneer, Fela Kuti, Burna Boy and fellow Nigerian singer-songwriter WizKid as musical influences.

In addition, D.Matthews has been added in billboard magazine’s “upcoming musician” in recent years. Following up with other music articles.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for D.Matthews

Releases

There are no releases to display for D.Matthews.

Other Reviews By bethany_rachell

Wiri Donna - EP Review: Being Alone
26 May 2022 // by bethany_rachell
It’s been two years since Wiri Donna’s first and only official release - a double single Manuka Money and Wandering Willies. Those who are in Wellington and have had the opportunity to see Wiri Donna live will be more accustomed to the heavier sound that they bring live.
Read More...
Mild Orange - Album Review: Looking For Space
13 Feb 2022 // by bethany_rachell
Mild Orange are back in New Zealand and back on the scene with their new album Looking For Space. Here is a breakdown of the key moments in the album.
Read More...
Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by bethany_rachell
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
View All Articles By bethany_rachell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem