29 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bluey Green - EP Review: Bluey Green

08 Jul 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.


Morning Sunshine is a great opening track, energetic from the first second. It’s a sweet, boppy, uncaring song, not totally in denial about the state of the world but positive in the face of all problems with a blue-sky backdrop. It’s the kind of song you’d hear in a movie intro, on the main characters car radio, with the windows rolled down, before trouble strikes in the form of a pretty-faced girl.

Track two, Roses, is a classic romantic narrative held together by a vibrant backing track and particularly nice bassline. It’s self–depreciating but hopeful and sweet (I can’t get away from this word with this EP) in a Tame Impala-type way. The sweetness continues into track three which is...forgivably cheesy. It’s definitely catchy, and could have been played on C4 in 2009, somewhere in between Owl City's Fireflies and Empire of the Sun's Walking on a Dream.

The EP takes a slower, sentimental turn at this point. When track four began I was almost convinced it was going to be a country song, and it definitely holds those undertones throughout, with guitar plucking and a steady kickdrum. Throughout the whole EP there are a lot of pleasant, interesting sounds, chimes and angelic harp noises.

Then, unexpectedly, the EP ends on a leaving-town song. Trouble is a melancholy, lamenting ballad, the only song that doesn’t induce the bright citrus zest of summer. I had to go and watch the Morning Sunshine music video afterwards to cheer me up – it's a great video by artist/producer Merk – go check it out!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bluey Green

Mount Maunganui, NZ’s Mitch Horton took the less direct route to releasing his own music. But after an adventurous life of surf and travel, the turmoil of 2020 became the catalyst for him to create a musical presence of summery optimism under the name Bluey Green. His music acts as a breath of fresh air to a weary world with a signature of warmth and positive energy.

2021 sees Bluey Green releasing his first music, created with the mad wizardry production skills of Mark Perkins (Merk). His first single Morning Sunshine was a solid debut, with the video being viewed over 100k times, aided by catching the heart of Mr Sam Neill. Now after cementing his mission to bring positive vibes to the masses, Bluey Green will be releasing his debut self titled EP on July 9th.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bluey Green

Releases

Bluey Green
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - Single Review: Shinbone
15 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Poneke based Oh Sweet Nothings' new track Shinbone is exciting from the start. It is the first release to follow their debut EP Emergency Procedures, released in 2019.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem