29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Wiri Donna - EP Review: Being Alone

26 May 2022 // A review by bethany_rachell

It’s been two years since Wiri Donna’s first and only official release - a double single Manuka Money and Wandering Willies. Those who are in Wellington and have had the opportunity to see Wiri Donna live will be more accustomed to the heavier sound that they bring live. For those remote listeners, confined to streaming services, the progression from the first releases’ gentle indie-folk to the meatier conditions of Being Alone might be surprising.

Track one, the album’s namesake, Being Alone starts nice and gentle, to ease you in. There’s a hint at a drop, which doesn’t amount, and then around halfway through it really goes for it. This becomes somewhat of a trend as the EP progresses, gentle starting songs that progress to crescendo.

No Follow Through is one of the two singles on the EP. It beings with light, happy up tempo rolling drums. The chorus brings a huge shift to that underlying heaviness that keeps peeking through in the EP. There’s a big intrusive guitar solo towards the end.

Dream Of Me is the second single. I remember seeing Wiri Donna play this song in November 2020, I wrote down the lyrics in my phone only to find upon searching, that it was unreleased – until now! I love the bittersweet lyrics, and the themes of growth and moving on. It spoke to me particularly in 2020 when I had a lot of growing and moving on, on my agenda, but it’s still applicable now, I’m sure you’ll all agree.

The finale, Last Call is the ultimate logical conclusion of an EP which largely follows a gentle/to/heavy structure. Slow whooshing symbols on the intro, gentle voice, it feels like going into winter. At almost five and a half minutes this song begins building and just keeps on building. Spoiler alert there is a very epic ending, like a dramatic movie, violins and all. I feel like the heavies just kept getting heavier until we reached this one – the heaviest.

Overall the EP gels together like a cohesive whole. It feels complete, well composed.

Catch Wiri Donna on her 2022 nationwide EP release tour, with her band; Harrison Scholes (Arjuna Oakes, F.A.I.R.Y), James MacEwan (Arjuna Oakes), & Elliott Dawson (DOONS). The tour kicks off in Wellington on June 10th before heading to Hamilton, Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin & Queenstown in July.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Wiri Donna

Wiri Donna begun as the indie-folk alter-ego of SOG's Bianca Bailey, these days turns out that Wiri Donna isn't so folk after all, more dinky riff rock designed for sweet summer moments. Music that will make you sigh and think about stuffs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Wiri Donna

Releases

Being Alone
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Sprouts
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By bethany_rachell

Mild Orange - Album Review: Looking For Space
13 Feb 2022 // by bethany_rachell
Mild Orange are back in New Zealand and back on the scene with their new album Looking For Space. Here is a breakdown of the key moments in the album.
Read More...
Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by bethany_rachell
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
View All Articles By bethany_rachell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem