4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fanfickk - Single Review: Everything's On Fire (Feat Wellie)

20 Mar 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford

Everything’s on Fire is a fresh, synth-heavy, cynically futuristic track – new from Fanfickk and featuring Korean rapper Wellie. The song itself is immediately engaging, but it has proved to only get more interesting the more I listen to and read about it.

The Fanfickk//Wellie collaboration is a beautiful and chaotic melange that blossomed out of a simple stumbling by Fanfickk upon Wellie’s tracks on Soundcloud. Despite language barriers, a global pandemic and more than a few miles of ocean between them the two artists worked together on the track using online translation tools to communicate.

Fanfickk’s vocals are robotic and bright, the chorus is catchy and relatable to anyone who has recently bothered to consider the state of the world. It seems so original in that it is simultaneously bouncy and energetic as well as apathetic and nonchalant.

What Wellie brings to the track is a huge point of difference compared to any typical rap breakdown in a song. Totally unexpected in the first instance, the two vocalists then weave together in the last chorus that brings the song to an abrupt and appropriate ending.

Hopefully, the same ingenuity can be applied to some form of gig collaboration in the near future. Just go and listen to this beautiful bilingual song before the world ends.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Fanfickk

Former ex-idealist Fanfickk is a human with a pulse. She was born in Germany, raised in New Zealand, and now lives in Melbourne, Australia. World famous in her own house, she writes, sings, and produces in her bedroom closet under the watchful eye of Dumpling the cat (who dislikes music in general).

Fanfickk’s very first songwriting attempt Shreds (2016) was described by music blog The Revue as "a shimmering electropop track that has a touch of Grimes, a dash of Goldfrapp, a sprinkle of Zola Jesus, and a whole lot of Kiwi spirit". From there, her sound has evolved in different directions—sometimes sugary electropop, like in Cotton Candy (2018), and other times sludgy punk, like in Pity Party (2019).

Pigeonholing Fanfickk into just one genre is not possible.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fanfickk

Releases

Skull Pocket
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Stay Shy
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem