26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MCK - EP Review: Hot Sounds

10 Mar 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford

Hot Sounds brings a sinuous step up from MCK’s Confessions EP released last year. The new four track EP keeps the silky lo-fi base, which has foregrounded previous tracks, and builds on it with a new energy. Track one - Tell Me – begins with a muted, underwater beat and drops quickly into the smooth vocals that characterise all of the following tracks.

This liquidity flows through to the second track and first single from the EP – Muse. Here it becomes the almost eerily ethereal backdrop to what is an otherwise pleasant, stereotypically feminine lament. A very vocally-driven track, a lot of elements of the backing track seem almost distracting.

Track four – Better (feat. Wells) – marks a definite high point in the EP, for me at least. It’s the second single and really stands out for a few reasons. I found in this track a disconnect between lyrical content and musical energy in that the lyrics are of heartbreak yet it is so careless and fun musically. Still, something worked. It tapped into that bittersweet energy of pop music that bands like The 1975 exemplify.

The EP ends sentimentally with the twinkly dreamscape of Trippin' Up. Big, repeated chorus and a really nice little guitar part nestled in there. All round a fitting way to end a gentle, trendy EP with mainstream potential. Depending on your preference this EP can be anything from chill-lo-fi-beats-to-study-to, to bedroom dancing before a night out.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About MCK

Mckenzie Comer disappeared from the industry and her burgeoning fan base at 16 after being discovered on YouTube by a Nashville music executive in 2010. Taking the time to hone her creativity out of the spotlight, she focused on finding her feet independently — allowing her to flourish as a songwriter and producer in her early 20's. Establishing her own artistic direction and reigniting her sense of self in the process, she returned in 2018 under MCK with Magnets and Sensitive, followed by a self-produced EP called Confessions in 2020.

It’s been a big year for the Auckland artist, already releasing two singles, Muse and Better from her next EP titled Hot Sounds which was co-written and co-produced by Josh Naley (Wells*).


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MCK

Releases

There are no releases to display for MCK.

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem