16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finn Johansson - Album Review: Two Thousand and Fourteen

17 Jul 2015 // A review by Ria Loveder

Wellingtonian musician, Finn Johansson proves with his album Two Thousand and Fourteen, that he is one talented musician. Created in 2014 (funnily enough), Johansson spent last year travelling Europe, living on boats, farms and couches and playing to living rooms, bars and theatres. Exploring Europe accompanied with his portable studio, he collaborated with other talented musicians who he met along the way.  

I really appreciated how some of the songs in the album didn’t comply to the typical mainstream song structure. For example, one of my favourite songs on the album Gregor Samsa had only six words that made up the almost two minute song, them being; my, brain, is, an, idiot, now. A song with beautiful guitar strumming and harmonized vocals it left me giggling but also with questions. Them being; does this song have any serious meaning? Is it meant to be humorous? What was the inspiration for this song? What event took place that made Johansson write a song about how idiotic his brain was? Why use only six words? The list could go on, but I will save you from the series of questions.

Another song that stuck out for me was Ramadan Blues. With it’s unusual introduction, it definitely struck a chord with me and was one I listened to multiple times. Johansson is a big fan of fasting and this song is his surreal ode to Ramadan, which is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar and is observed by Muslims as the month of fasting.

One of my other favourite songs was coincidentally titled Farce and was beautifully constructed. Emotive, it was a song that swept you up to a world of melancholy.

This album is full of gems. Songs that will make you smile, laugh and bring a tear to your eye. This is an album that will take you on an emotional rollercoaster.

 

About Finn Johansson

Finn Johansson has been ebbing and flowing around the Wellington and European music scenes for a little while now, & after numerous band tours and bands Johnsonville City Nights, The Boxcar Rattle and Tommy and the Fallen Horses, radio/TV appearances and session work has released his debut album.

'Two Thousand And Fourteen' is the product of the titular year spent in Europe, and was written and recorded with Johansson's portable studio while he travelled, living on boats, farms and couches, and playing to living rooms, bars and theaters. He ran into a few hidden geniuses on the way, and they're on the record.

If you like handmade, electrical music and you like to laugh while feeling sad, then this is the ticket.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finn Johansson

Releases

Two Thousand And Fourteen
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem