14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness

20 Feb 2018 // A review by Ria Loveder

An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work.

His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.

A beautiful blend of electronic beats, harmonies and evoking lyrics, it is a track that is layered with reminiscence of days long gone. Jam pact with feelings of yearning you can’t help but feel Tom is confiding in you with his vulnerable storytelling.

A beautiful build up in the music at 2:57 enforces the heartfelt connection to childhood and times past.

A special mention I believe should also be said for the photography on the single artwork and the teaser video that went live on his YouTube channel, showing a 20 second clip of what to expect for the upcoming full length music video. Whimsical, childlike and imaginative, I most definitely look forward to seeing the video in its entirety.

A tune and video well worth a listen and look at!


Review written by Ria Loveder

 

About Tom Lee-Richards

"A Stunning video and song, one we can't get enough of at MTV" - MTV on Tom Lee-Richards' recent single 'Beside You'.

Just finishing his 1st EU tour including shows at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Tom just released the new single Out of the Oddness premiering on Chicago's Pop Matters (bit.ly/2nvOCO4). He's now preparing for a NZ, Aus and EU tour supporting his upcoming Mini-LP of the same name.

Following on from Tom's music video Madness chosen for a number of international film festivals, Beside You's dystopian future video set in Otago was recently MTV Upload of the week. It also premiered on FolkRadio UK and has been featured in Berlin's VICE Kaltblut magazine's Top 5 among other international sites.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tom Lee-Richards

Releases

Out of the Oddness
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem