14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)

29 Oct 2018 // A review by Ria Loveder

Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.

They have proven that they are the masters of catchy rifts and powerful anthem style themed songs. Less People (Less Traffic) is a concept created from how people perceive themselves as the victims of traffic, when in reality they are the culprits alongside everyone else.

This particular song has a more rock vibe than their previous tracks but will appease any fanatic pop listener out there. An upbeat frantic high energy track, it is one you can take your frustration out with when you get caught up in the morning commute to work.

It is great to see them pushing the boundaries of the definition of “pop” music and with the release of this latest single, hopefully we can see some new music set to be released in the very near future. Perhaps over the warmer months, as their tunes beg to be played on summer roadies, festivals and beach hangs!

 

About Two Cartoons

Featuring Isaac McFarlane, Bradley Craig and Dom Jones, Two Cartoons is an exercise in summer set simplicity, utilising two part harmonies and upbeat rhythms to great effect.

Hailing from Dunedin, New Zealand, Two Cartoons formed early 2011 while on holiday in Auckland, with a mind to harness and channel the beautiful warm weather and their continued love for bands like Best Coast, Wavves and The Drums before winter hit. Out of the ensuing whirlwind of creative process spilled the song ‘Better Coast’, a song which McFarlane describes as “being about the anticipation of returning to Dunedin and being back with all of my friends from University who scatter across the country during summer holidays. The title being a homage to one of our favourite bands.”

Following a return to Dunedin, Two Cartoons premiered live at the Otago University Student Association’s Battle Of The Bands, grabbing the attention of local musicians, earning them support slots and culminating in a series of headline concerts. After a short recording session in McFarlane’s student flat, ‘Better Coast’ was released in digital format on iTunes along with B-side and crowd favourite ‘Scientific Life’, offering a lighter and more spacious companion to the storming energy of the heartfelt lead track. A quick fire National tour followed, with the duo sharing their summer fun music with crowds in Wanaka, Dunedin, Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland and culminating in a support slot for Flying Nun luminaries and “Dunedin sound” legends The Chills in their home town.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Two Cartoons

Releases

Tiny Terrors
Year: ????
Type: EP
Lost Boys Club
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Jelly Tip Lips
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem