17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?

13 Apr 2018 // A review by Ria Loveder

nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?

Stated by producer Tom Healy (Tiny Ruins) this album has been a “process of discovering” for Aasha, Will and Cullen. The album features songs from each of them along with two written by the talented Hollie Fullbrook (Tiny Ruins).

Listening to their album it is clear to hear the maturity emitting from their music. The album has become an audible representation of nomad developing and understanding who they are as artists. They have embraced elements of vulnerability and rawness to create honest and emotive tracks that I believe well surpass their age.

They have used this album to grow musically and are playing to their artistic strengths. Utilizing their array of vocal types in harmonies, each song has a unique story to tell and is its own little gem. They use each one of their voices perfectly sorted to their vocal range and style and I do not find one steals the lime light from the other. Each one of them is allowed their chance to show their talent and bring their own flair.

I am interested in knowing which song they will choose to be released as the next single from the album as each track has the capability to stand alone in the charts. My personal favourite to see played on the radio however would have to be All of My Heart, with its catchy pop hook and upbeat tempo, it’s a turn up load sing along tune for sure.

If you are looking for an album filled to the brim with ambient full melodies with undeniable catchy tunes, Can You Feel It? is the album for you. It is clear the boys are taking their musical career very seriously and I look forward to seeing what they do in 2018.


Review written by Ria Loveder

 

About nomad

Aasha Mallard, Will McGillivray and Cullen Kiesanowski formed a band at school in Christchurch and their differing musical tastes collide to shape their alt-pop/folk sound. The debut single by these 17-year olds, I Will Find You was produced by Dave Dobbyn who also features on guitar.

Nomad have been winning over unsuspecting audiences, show by show – they’ve opened for Fly My Pretties, played Homegrown, Lazy Sundays, Music in Parks, Queenstown Winter Festival and supported Salmonella Dub, Marlon Williams, Jackie Thomas and Benny Tipene.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for nomad

Releases

Can You Feel It
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem