17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger

04 May 2018 // A review by Ria Loveder

In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music.

Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again. Her creativity and confidence to bring her vulnerability to her music is inspiring and captivating to listen to. She has truly stepped into her own with this album and has created a collection of songs that are the perfect blend of electronic beats, unnerving synths and her enchanting rich warm voice.

I admire her way of letting the songs speak for themselves, with songs 008 and 004 being purely instrumental. 008 was one of the stand out tracks on this album for me, whisking me off to some timeless zone of tranquillity and emotion, one that when listened to can easily take the listener to a dreamlike serene state.

Other stand outs for me on the album are Beg for More and Bass Player. Her confidence in bringing emotions that can seem ‘dark’ and ‘gloomy’ is something I applaud and see instead as ‘courageous’ and ‘bold’. To create music that is so descriptive in emotion she has very much put her heart and soul on the line. It makes the Top 40 songs about love seem like something to be laughed at.

A fantastic second album, this one is fearless. It definitely feels like she is saying with her music ‘I am here, this is me and this is what I do’. It’s bold, it’s brave and you should definitely consider giving it a listen.


Review written by Ria Loveder

 

About Nicole Andrews

Nicole Andrews is a self-taught pianist and electronic artist originally from Portland, Oregon, now living in Wellington.

Her debut album, In the Shallows, focused on piano driven alternative, and went on to receive critical acclaim within New Zealand and overseas.

Her sophomore album, A Stranger, has diversified from the previous ‘piano songs’ moniker, instead drawing on electronic influences such as Bjork, Goldfrapp and Arca. Paired with Rhombus’ Thomas Voyce as producer, the compositions centre around the Prophet 6 synthesizer and the raw confessional lyrical stylings Nicole is known for. The result is a gritty and dark album that reveals a new side of this singer-songwriter.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nicole Andrews

Releases

A Stranger
Year: 2018
Type: Album
In The Shallows
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem