15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line

08 Apr 2018 // A review by Ria Loveder

My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that.

Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!

These guys are the kind of band I can see playing at summer festivals all season long. The perfect band to accompany a day spent with fresh green grass under one's feet, the sun shining and a drink of choice in hand.  

Now I can totally understand that these guys sound may not be for everyone, but if you are into ambitious musicians creating music of texture and uncontainable and infectious tunes, then I suggest giving them a listen.  

Their track Wallace Line is filled with vitality and enthusiasm. I really can’t fault it to be honest and I have to say this has to be my most favourite single I have reviewed on muzic.net. I am gutted I won’t have the opportunity to see them live on their current tour, as I can tell they will be just as good, potentially more so when listened to live! I am now off to listen to more of their ridiculously catchy tunes, see you on the other side!


Review written by Ria Loveder

 

About Ha the Unclear

Ha the Unclear (an anagram for Nuclear Heath) initially formed in Dunedin under the moniker Brown. It is off-kilter alt-pop music with vintage overtones and interesting angles: "I've always been your coffee table, shit I've seen some things. Heard words I can't repeat. I'm mute, I'm rimu, I'm loyal" (Secret Lives of Furniture), "The holes in the roof are made from stars/We'll die wondering what we are" (Kosmonavt).

Full-length album Bacterium, Look at Your Motor Go was released September 2014 after a string of singles (Apostate, Secret Lives of Furniture, Growing Mould).

Michael Cathro is joined by Paul Cathro, Ben Sargeant and Theo Francis to deliver songs and stories about elderly regret, a coffee table's infatuation with its owner, tricycling through a New Zealand suburb, pondering the imponderable and the effects of catholic school.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ha the Unclear

Releases

Invisible Lines
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Bacterium, Look At Your Motor Go
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
Album Review: Ciaran McMeeken
04 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
What I love about Ciaran McMeeken’s self-titled album, is how diverse the music is. An album that has been created to encompass his experiences as an artist so far in his career, every track is unique, making this album versatile and attractive to a variety of music tastes.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - EP Review: Hopeful & Hopeless
02 Aug 2017 // by Ria Loveder
This beautiful little collection of songs was recorded in my favourite live music venue, The Wine Cellar. I remember many fond times, snuggled into one of their many couches, feet up, mulled wine in hand listening to talented people performing in the intimate space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem