7 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tori Reed - Album Review: Long Nights, Flightless Birds & Coming Home

24 Jan 2015 // A review by Ria Loveder

I was asked to review Tori Reed's album Long Nights, Flightless Birds & Coming Home with knowing nothing about the artist or her music. I am so glad I was given the opportunity to sit down and listen to what I consider to be a very talented and experimental artist with a great work of music. From Reed’s album I have chosen to talk about my three favourites songs.

Deep Fried Gadgets is the first track on the album. The title in itself is not your usual header for a song and when I first listened to it I was quite puzzled. I think anyone would be if the opening lyrics went like this; ‘We can deep fry anything, I saw it on TV, Put a laptop in a deep fryer, And serve it with ice cream’. However, after listening to the song a couple more times I found out the song is about finding yourself and being confident in who you are. Forget about all the superficial things that technology has taught us and love you for who you are. A fantastic message if you ask me. This song is beautifully constructed with up tempo parts including trumpets to soft and light, show casing Reed’s control over her voice.

Second is Injuries. For anyone who has experienced a broken heart, this song will speak volumes. She nails everything about a broken relationship in six minutes and forty eight seconds. The story in the song is about a women in denial of missing her love. Stunning lyrics with a beautiful instrumental.

Lastly, is I Had A Ghost. A song that instantly had me sitting a bit straighter in my chair and listening more attentively, due to a variety of things. One, Reed sings unaccompanied in the first half. Two, there is a gap of silence for 63 seconds in the middle of the song. And three, in the second half of the song the piano is bought in with no other accompaniment or singing. It was a deconstruction of a song, put into its three main components, voice, silence and instruments to create a beautifully sad and sombre song about people feeling invisible.

I adore Tori’s voice. You can hear the emotion so clearly that at some points I got a bit teary. I feel her music could be out into a soundtrack of a musical due to how expressive they are. She has composed songs that, for me, made me picture scenarios, visualising characters and story lines for them. And if an artist can do that well, for not just one song, but a whole album, they need to be congratulated and be given a hug by me, because this is the kind of music the industry is lacking in.

 

About Tori Reed

Tori Reed's music traverses many genres. It meanders from finger picking folk, through to jazz influenced beats, a dusting of country and vocals that could be soul. It's music that will touch hearts, tap toes and leave you wanting more.

Born in New Zealand, raised in Australia, and having done a lot of travel, Tori has difficulty naming one place home. This affinity with being on the road has manifested itself in many songs and undoubtedly, being a wandering spirit, will do in many more.

In December 2013, Tori released her first album, Long Nights, Flightless Birds and Coming Home, in Queenstown and quickly took the tracks to the UK on tour. Her next album - The Snug Sessions - recorded in the UK, is now available. Find both albums on iTunes and Tori's official website.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tori Reed

Releases

The Snug Sessions
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem