3 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand

19 Oct 2015 // A review by Asmith

Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go. Are you ready for this?

The production of Dick Tracy's new EP The Red Hand is top notch, no corners have been cut in the making of it, from songwriting to recording, and they even have a brand spanking new website to coincide with the EP's release.

Having already toured New Zealand extensively after the release of their first single Old Long Johnson (recorded and produced by Tiki Taane), the party continues with an onslaught of party rockin' gigs lined up to promote their debut EP The Red Hand.

Much like their debut single this EP packs a punch and will have you singing along and ready to rock  as soon as you press play, and their live shows are even better.

With every release from Dick Tracy they just keep getting better and better, and I’m already looking forward to their next release. So much party. So much rock. Dick Tracy = Party Rock.

Get it in ya.

 

About Dick Tracy

Only a month into jamming, Dick Tracy entered a battle of the bands judged by internationally acclaimed musician and producer; Tiki Taane. Winning the final, Tiki whisked them off to the studio to produce their first single Old Long Johnson which Dick Tracy then went on to produce a music video for the single themselves with zero budget.

Shortly after, Dick Tracy won fan favourite prize at local music festival Tankapalooza which granted them yet another free recording to which their second single Party Pete was recorded.

After playing many shows and gaining a steady following, Dick Tracy moved into Wellington's Munki Studios (Beastwars, Fat Freddy’s Drop and TrinityRoots) to record their debut EP The Red Hand and released the single Black Heart as another DIY video.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dick Tracy

Releases

Dick Tracy
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Red Hand
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
Roy, Static Era, All Dead Superstars, Kavort @ The Royal 19/10/2013
28 Oct 2013 // by Asmith
The night was kicked off with a guy named Roy playing an acoustic set of covers from a wide range of styles, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sublime and my favourite (and the crowds too, as I looked around I could see most of them singing along) - Tool. Next up we had Static Era - this was probably my highlight of the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem