17 Nov 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review

26 Feb 2014 // A review by Asmith

When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.

But then something different happened. The song went in a totally different direction. I certainly wasn't expecting that to happen, and now I have to try and explain this.

Imagine, if you will, that Joe Bonamassa was a Kiwi. Imagine him spreading blues, country, rock and pop influences through one album rather tending to lean more towards one or the other throughout his albums. Now to add the final piece of the puzzle, imagine that he had a kiwi indie pop producer. And that is pretty much Jake Stokes album Midnight in a nutshell.

Killer bluesy riffs , shredding solos, and kiwi indie pop vocals.

In a world where we have to deal with so much music that sounds the same as all the others, hearing something that's different to all the others tends to draw me in like a siren call.

This is the kind of album that could potentially draw the attention of people from multiple genres, as usually happens with this kind of crossover, and I'll be watching with interest to see how it evolves and progresses.  

 

About Jake Stokes

British born Kiwi, Jake Stokes is a Wellington-based musician/producer who is currently performing with his guitar-driven blues-rock 3 piece, Jake Stokes & The Smoking Barrels. Having released his debut album Midnight at age 18, Jake went on to discover and grow a passion for music production and recording. As a songwriter, Jake uses his talents as a producer and engineer to bring in pop inflections and modern techniques not usually associated with blues-rock, his latest EP Before We’re All Dead being a great example of this. Self-recorded and produced, the songs from Before We’re All Dead are the main focus of the band’s national tour this September.

Praised as New Zealand’s answer to Joe Bonamassa (muzic.net.nz), Jake is an up and coming force on the New Zealand blues-rock scene. Jake blends old-school music sensibilities, youthful energy, and jaw-dropping chops to deliver a truly unique live experience to his audience.

“Now, that’s what I call talent” – Uli Jon Roth (Scorpions, Sky Academy)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jake Stokes

Releases

Before We're All Dead
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Midnight
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Review
24 Mar 2014 // by Asmith
Having never heard of Louis Baker before I was given this review I was unsure what to expect.This wasn't a bad thing though- have you ever heard an artist for the first time and just sat there going, wow, this is cool.
Read More...
Eclipse - Pink Floyd Tribute Band @ Stonehenge 01/02/2014
16 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
Let me just start of by stating there are simply not enough words in the english language to adequately describe how amazing this show was, but I will do my best. We pulled into the parking area to be guided with precision into our space, then jumped in in the que with the other 2500 people who had come to this event and made our way in surprisingly fast.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem