29 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review

22 May 2014 // A review by Asmith

Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while.

I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Funky soul and ska intertwined with a touch of class, catchy riffs to get you in the groove, tight harmonies, and jam packed with addictive chorus lines you can’t help but sing along to, there’s just so much to like in one saxy album (hah!).

This is the debut release from Palmerston North based Truly Made, a 5-piece band who has certainly made their mark on the local scene and I’m sure after this release it won’t be long till everyone knows their name.

Guitar, bass, drums, keys and sax all meld together magically and each has their own opportunity to shine, while the dynamics of the group and their instruments mesh together fluidly and have come together with something really special on this album, to the point that I believe if you can listen to this entire album and not find yourself singing or humming a tune or vocal line from it then you are far stronger willed than I am, but you probably don’t get weird looks from strangers as you walk down the street either. I’m sure it’s just jealousy.

This is definitely going in my list of favourite albums of 2014, what can I say? I guess I’m just a sucker for the groove...

 

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
Roy, Static Era, All Dead Superstars, Kavort @ The Royal 19/10/2013
28 Oct 2013 // by Asmith
The night was kicked off with a guy named Roy playing an acoustic set of covers from a wide range of styles, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sublime and my favourite (and the crowds too, as I looked around I could see most of them singing along) - Tool. Next up we had Static Era - this was probably my highlight of the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem