29 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review

27 Dec 2013 // A review by Asmith

This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is.

All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.

Blackleaf Gardens describe themselves as a Progressive Metal band, and the range of influences you will hear throughout this album is rather outstanding in itself, this is the sound you get when a vast plethora of musical influences get thrown into a great big melting pot and are given to talented metal musicians to play with, and they nailed it.

These guys have worked hard at their trade and it has paid off, from ambient noise to melodic riffery to brutal chugging there is something for most metal fans, they weren't BOTB grand finalists for nothing.

If you want simplistic music with no variation in techniques go look somewhere else, every member of the band gets to showcase an array of talents throughout this album, and these guys are not one trick ponies so if you get bored easily this is potentially the album for you.

I now have another band on my list of “who to see live” and if this album is anything to go by it should be one hell of a show, I'll see you there!

Key To Infinity
View Track Listing
 

About Blackleaf Gardens

Blackleaf Gardens is a four piece progressive metal band that brings crushing riffs, groovy tune and chaotically progressive rhythms together with catchy bipolar vocals delivering screams through lullabies. Likened to prestigious acts such as Opeth, Mastodon, The Faceless and Tool. The band brings an explosive, bizarre and maniacal performance.

The band formed in 2011 and has been climbing the local music scene with relentless ferocity leaving a lasting impression and building momentum. This has lead the band to open for Lord (Australia), El Schlong as well as many leading local acts.

2012 saw the release of the band's first five track EP "Seedling State," produced entirely by the band, which received repeated radio play and led the band to win the K.I.L.L. (Keep it Live & Loud) competition run by local radio station The Flat FM. The prize included means to record a debut album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blackleaf Gardens

Releases

Key To Infinity
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Seedling State
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
Roy, Static Era, All Dead Superstars, Kavort @ The Royal 19/10/2013
28 Oct 2013 // by Asmith
The night was kicked off with a guy named Roy playing an acoustic set of covers from a wide range of styles, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sublime and my favourite (and the crowds too, as I looked around I could see most of them singing along) - Tool. Next up we had Static Era - this was probably my highlight of the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem