3 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blacklistt - Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014

17 Jun 2014 // A review by Asmith

I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.

The first thing I noticed when I walked in the door to the opening band Silence The City was the sound quality, immaculate. Attending a gig at Bodega was yet another first for me and the attention to detail soundwise was amazing, a lot of venues could learn a lot from the effort they have put into ensuring their bands sound amazing, and the bass was so loud you could feel it pushing through you from the back of the room.

Packed house may be an understatement, it was like being in a bumper car ride just standing still waiting for Blacklistt to take the stage, I couldn’t tell if I was getting bumped into, groped, violated or all of the above and I loved every minute of it.

I found myself in a sea of happy drunks who were singing along to every song coming through the sound system between bands as though it was the bands themselves onstage and pretty soon everybody was waiting in anticipation for the headline act to come on, filling the place up wall to wall with avid fans and screaming girls getting the hopes up of every person with a bad view that Blacklistt had arrived.

Blacklistt finally came to the stage and tore the place up with a great mixture of Blindspott and Blacklistt songs, the entire crowd moshing and dancing to all their favourite songs despite the heat in the room (trust me, it was crazy! Even if you weren’t in the pit or the crowd you were sweating).

One of my favourite parts of the show had to be when they pulled a girl out of the crowd (I believe her name was Christine) and pulled her onstage as they played an acoustic version of Phlex and dedicated it to her.

The crowd had been screaming for Nil By Mouth all night, between almost every song, and they finally played it as the last song of the night (as an encore) and went out with a bang, every single person I could see was moshing their heart out.

And to top it all off they even promised to meet everyone at the bar after the show for a drink. Blacklistt are all about the fans and I can’t wait for the next one!

 

About Blacklistt

Featuring 4 of the 5 original members of Blindspott.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blacklistt

Releases

Blacklistt
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
Roy, Static Era, All Dead Superstars, Kavort @ The Royal 19/10/2013
28 Oct 2013 // by Asmith
The night was kicked off with a guy named Roy playing an acoustic set of covers from a wide range of styles, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sublime and my favourite (and the crowds too, as I looked around I could see most of them singing along) - Tool. Next up we had Static Era - this was probably my highlight of the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem