3 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Static Era - Roy, Static Era, All Dead Superstars, Kavort @ The Royal 19/10/2013

28 Oct 2013 // A review by Asmith

The night was kicked off with a guy named Roy playing an acoustic set of covers from a wide range of styles, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sublime and my favourite (and the crowds too, as I looked around I could see most of them singing along) - Tool.

Next up we had Static Era - this was probably my highlight of the night. A chick fronted rock group with an amazing stage presence, this wasn't just a bunch of people onstage playing music you actually got a show. Emma G was bouncing around all over the stage (in her now world famous in NZ hotpants) with a powerful voice and amazing vocal range, a natural performer, I was hypnotized from the first note. The whole band was very high energy, BV's a mix of gang vocals and harmonies, and that bass tone... wow.

All Dead Superstars were next to the stage with something pleasantly different - Irish rock. ¾ was everywhere, gang vocals, shuffle beats, the whole pub was dancing (I'm sure I even saw the bar girl having a wee dance), I even saw a few irish jigs making their way throughout the crowd. Awesome show, it's getting to see bands like this that breakaway from the current “trend” and just doing what they love that is a big part of why I do this job.

And last but not least we have a band so far at the opposite end of the spectrum from the opening acoustic act that you had no choice but to listen. No seriously, these guys were louder than every other band combined. The boys from Wanganui were bringing the metal, Kavort saw the sound man take the stage and strap on his guitar, and this was quite possibly the first time I have ever seen a couple get down on the dance floor and “boogie” to a metal band, awesome.

Overall this was a very eclectic mix of bands but one that I thoroughly enjoyed, if ANY of these bands are playing in your town you best be getting your ass own to that gig.

 

About Static Era

Static Era is an Auckland-based rock band (think Evanescence meets Stone Sour) that formed in late 2010 and features a stellar lineup of musicians.

Double-platinum selling guitarist Chris Yong (Tadpole, Redline, Alt TV) has performed internationally and toured with Disturbed, P.O.D, Alter Bridge and Evanescence.

Vocalist Emma G is a New Zealander of the Year Local Hero award recipient, honoured in 2012 for inspiring others through her music. Despite living with a health condition that has challenged her through twenty three surgeries, including ten brain surgeries, she established a successful singing career at a young age and placed top ten in the Inaugural Play It Strange songwriting competition in 2004. Emma G also teaches tertiary level music and was a vocal coach for eight years.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Static Era

Releases

Fit To Fight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Dare To Fail
Year: 2013
Type: EP
The Start
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem