4 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Devilskin @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 16/08/14

20 Aug 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

My partner and I arrived at The Powerstation, looked at each other, looked at the crowd, and the first thing I said was 'Everyone's wearing black, did we not get the memo?'. 7.45pm and the crowd was starting to grow. A guy with holes in his ears big enough to fit a 'D' sized battery through calls out to me and says we may as well line up now because otherwise we will never get in.

After a bit of shuffling, we eventually got to the ticket line, and after a pat-down (I'm assuming this was for weapons and alcohol, not just for fun) we made our way through the doors to the bar. Opting to stand by the sound desk, the Powerstation looked amazing with huge 1 storey high Devilskin banners hanging from roof to floor either side with menacing skulls and a Tama kit setup in the dim stage lights.

I looked over to see Braiden Paige behind the mixing desk, and I thought to myself, this is going to be one good night.

First up Von Voin Strum hit the stage. They are new to me, but after a bit of quick googling on my phone, found they have already produced a few music videos and and released an EP. Their description 'blues infused rock' is about as true as it gets. Extremely tight. They had a nice blend of Rock and some slow jams all rolled into one. Very comparable to Kings Of Leon.

The band that I have seen many times and am never disappointed hit the stage second. Fire At Will. These guys have already released a few songs that have done extremely well on The Rock, and played alongside I Am Giant, Villiany and Ekko Park. Once again, they delivered a flawless set, massive stage energy, and lifted the whole vibe of the room. They even had the entire room chanting 'Fire At Will' before they hit the first note.

Devilskin. Theres a name synonymous with cutting edge hard rock metal. I have known Jennie Skulander now for probably the best part of 10 years since her previous band Slipping Tongue battled head to head with The Twitch and my previous band Epitome at Galatos at the Battle Of The Bands NZ final all those years ago. Since then she has been belting out devious metal melodies and showing off her amazing set of lungs on stage with The Axeman (Paul Martin) The Axeman's son (Nick Martin) and Nail ex Chuganaut.

What I was expecting and was delivered were two totally different things. 17 shows down, and yet still Devilskin managed to deliver this high energy show with smoke machines shooting fog high into the air, shredding guitar solo's, double kicks delivered well into the 200bpm timeframes, power polished and well pitched vocals laid over the top, and driving yet cutting bass lines so perfectly timed with the drums.

They played for well over an hour, and to be honest, i was mightly impressed with the professionalism and the delivery of the show. They have really grown from being a bunch of good musicians, to being a bunch of great musicians who can hold their own on the world stage.

By all means, if you haven't done it yet - go and find yourself a ticket to see Devilskin play live. You won't be sorry .. and if you make it to the front row, you may even get shot in the face with a fog bazooka from Jennie Skulander.

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem