19 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Devilskin @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 16/08/14

20 Aug 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

My partner and I arrived at The Powerstation, looked at each other, looked at the crowd, and the first thing I said was 'Everyone's wearing black, did we not get the memo?'. 7.45pm and the crowd was starting to grow. A guy with holes in his ears big enough to fit a 'D' sized battery through calls out to me and says we may as well line up now because otherwise we will never get in.

After a bit of shuffling, we eventually got to the ticket line, and after a pat-down (I'm assuming this was for weapons and alcohol, not just for fun) we made our way through the doors to the bar. Opting to stand by the sound desk, the Powerstation looked amazing with huge 1 storey high Devilskin banners hanging from roof to floor either side with menacing skulls and a Tama kit setup in the dim stage lights.

I looked over to see Braiden Paige behind the mixing desk, and I thought to myself, this is going to be one good night.

First up Von Voin Strum hit the stage. They are new to me, but after a bit of quick googling on my phone, found they have already produced a few music videos and and released an EP. Their description 'blues infused rock' is about as true as it gets. Extremely tight. They had a nice blend of Rock and some slow jams all rolled into one. Very comparable to Kings Of Leon.

The band that I have seen many times and am never disappointed hit the stage second. Fire At Will. These guys have already released a few songs that have done extremely well on The Rock, and played alongside I Am Giant, Villiany and Ekko Park. Once again, they delivered a flawless set, massive stage energy, and lifted the whole vibe of the room. They even had the entire room chanting 'Fire At Will' before they hit the first note.

Devilskin. Theres a name synonymous with cutting edge hard rock metal. I have known Jennie Skulander now for probably the best part of 10 years since her previous band Slipping Tongue battled head to head with The Twitch and my previous band Epitome at Galatos at the Battle Of The Bands NZ final all those years ago. Since then she has been belting out devious metal melodies and showing off her amazing set of lungs on stage with The Axeman (Paul Martin) The Axeman's son (Nick Martin) and Nail ex Chuganaut.

What I was expecting and was delivered were two totally different things. 17 shows down, and yet still Devilskin managed to deliver this high energy show with smoke machines shooting fog high into the air, shredding guitar solo's, double kicks delivered well into the 200bpm timeframes, power polished and well pitched vocals laid over the top, and driving yet cutting bass lines so perfectly timed with the drums.

They played for well over an hour, and to be honest, i was mightly impressed with the professionalism and the delivery of the show. They have really grown from being a bunch of good musicians, to being a bunch of great musicians who can hold their own on the world stage.

By all means, if you haven't done it yet - go and find yourself a ticket to see Devilskin play live. You won't be sorry .. and if you make it to the front row, you may even get shot in the face with a fog bazooka from Jennie Skulander.

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four-piece band from Hamilton which formed in June 2010. They have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem