20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Devilskin @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 16/08/14

20 Aug 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

My partner and I arrived at The Powerstation, looked at each other, looked at the crowd, and the first thing I said was 'Everyone's wearing black, did we not get the memo?'. 7.45pm and the crowd was starting to grow. A guy with holes in his ears big enough to fit a 'D' sized battery through calls out to me and says we may as well line up now because otherwise we will never get in.

After a bit of shuffling, we eventually got to the ticket line, and after a pat-down (I'm assuming this was for weapons and alcohol, not just for fun) we made our way through the doors to the bar. Opting to stand by the sound desk, the Powerstation looked amazing with huge 1 storey high Devilskin banners hanging from roof to floor either side with menacing skulls and a Tama kit setup in the dim stage lights.

I looked over to see Braiden Paige behind the mixing desk, and I thought to myself, this is going to be one good night.

First up Von Voin Strum hit the stage. They are new to me, but after a bit of quick googling on my phone, found they have already produced a few music videos and and released an EP. Their description 'blues infused rock' is about as true as it gets. Extremely tight. They had a nice blend of Rock and some slow jams all rolled into one. Very comparable to Kings Of Leon.

The band that I have seen many times and am never disappointed hit the stage second. Fire At Will. These guys have already released a few songs that have done extremely well on The Rock, and played alongside I Am Giant, Villiany and Ekko Park. Once again, they delivered a flawless set, massive stage energy, and lifted the whole vibe of the room. They even had the entire room chanting 'Fire At Will' before they hit the first note.

Devilskin. Theres a name synonymous with cutting edge hard rock metal. I have known Jennie Skulander now for probably the best part of 10 years since her previous band Slipping Tongue battled head to head with The Twitch and my previous band Epitome at Galatos at the Battle Of The Bands NZ final all those years ago. Since then she has been belting out devious metal melodies and showing off her amazing set of lungs on stage with The Axeman (Paul Martin) The Axeman's son (Nick Martin) and Nail ex Chuganaut.

What I was expecting and was delivered were two totally different things. 17 shows down, and yet still Devilskin managed to deliver this high energy show with smoke machines shooting fog high into the air, shredding guitar solo's, double kicks delivered well into the 200bpm timeframes, power polished and well pitched vocals laid over the top, and driving yet cutting bass lines so perfectly timed with the drums.

They played for well over an hour, and to be honest, i was mightly impressed with the professionalism and the delivery of the show. They have really grown from being a bunch of good musicians, to being a bunch of great musicians who can hold their own on the world stage.

By all means, if you haven't done it yet - go and find yourself a ticket to see Devilskin play live. You won't be sorry .. and if you make it to the front row, you may even get shot in the face with a fog bazooka from Jennie Skulander.

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem