27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Viices - Single Review: Coffee

20 Feb 2022 // A review by Carl Hayman

Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will.

I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.

The words ‘Indie’ and ‘Earworm’ popped up a few times, and also mentions that Viices is originally a solo project with the addition of drums and bass only recently. I quickly formed a picture of an indie/folk rock band, light, melodic, a touch delicate, but this is not the true story.

Coffee is the name of their latest single to drop, and I’ve gotta say, it’s good! The first 30 seconds give me small glints reminiscent of 1979 by Smashing Pumpkins, but the track in entirety is very different.

This style of music is not what I’d normally listen to, that’s not to say I can’t appreciate it, but my reviews are typically the type that reference a lot of other music to give readers an idea of what to expect. This is the first time I think I haven’t been able to clearly do that. What I can say is, the track flows. It’s clear and precise, its soulful, its melodic, and it’s well written. I particularly enjoy Will's bass line (insert musical reference here – it reminds me of Alex Katunich from Incubus) with a touch of punchy added to a really solid basis that forms the song. The song has some good detail in the flow between full and half time between chorus/versus. I love this, but the rocker in me can't help but feel like the guitar solo could have benefited with slightly heavier distortion to give it a big energy punch, however this flows into the next chorus which does just that and steps it up like a steelcap to the groin.

It wouldn’t be a complete review without a drum mention – so big up’s to the drum line in this track. Solid, not overpowering, not too understated, and not too flashy. Exactly what is required of this song, nothing more nothing less. The tone is great too! Geordie's kit has a nice deep tone, with a slightly muffled boom it sits band smack in the mix right where it needs to be.

Overall, I really enjoy the track, and at a guess, Jake and the boys have probably worked countless hours on this song to deliver to you a superb radio rock single with a tonne of vibe, heaps of emotion, and a really solid feel. It’s a yes from me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Viices

Viices is a three-piece rock band based in Wellington




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Viices

Releases

Double Denim
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Toxic
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem