30 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown - Single Review: I Am

17 Mar 2022 // A review by Epitomised_Drummer

Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.

They name their influences such as Black Sabbath and Hendrix, as well as Sevendust with a big tight heavy groove.

I’m a big fan of all of these bands, so was VERY eager to hit the go button, and upon initial listen through of their brand new single I could hear every single one of these influences, but the one I reckon they probably didn’t add to that list and should have, is Alice In Chains. I can hear a huge amount of Layne Staley/William Bradley DuVall as underpinnings in Lexie’s vocal lines, and also through the guitar solos which flow melodiously over the entire tune. Hell yeah!

They are what they say they are – big, tight, heavy and they have got groove. The guitars and bass sound massive, definitely a combo of dark dingey alley rock and stadium rock with big wailing guitar solos over the top courtesy of Paul Schurgers.

The single is grows on you each time you listen. The riff imprints itself in your brain, and Lexie’s vocals burrow deeper into your soul. There is a hint of some cowbell leading the tune through the second pre-verse section stepping up the game as it builds on you. Drummer Trefor Jones keeps tempo solid and tight through both verses and chorus. I almost feel with a with the guitar sitting high in the mix and vocals lower in the mix all the way through, Trefor could have loosened the hi-hats a little through the versus to keep the energy, but nonetheless, it doesn’t lack too much.

To sum it all up for you, heavy, dark, and a heart of stone. I’m pretty happy to say that I’d be stoked to hear more from these guys moving forward. If they ever end up playing the north island, you’ll definitely catch me at one of their shows.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Epitomised_Drummer

Say Or Do - Single Review: Awake
19 Mar 2023 // by Epitomised_Drummer
If you’ve been following the Kiwi Rock scene for a while now, you’ll be familiar with the names Silence The City, Quarter 2 and Broken Avenue. One of the main drivers behind these epic bands has been by groove-master Sam French.
Read More...
Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
View All Articles By Epitomised_Drummer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem