17 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Say Or Do - Single Review: Awake

19 Mar 2023 // A review by Epitomised_Drummer

If you’ve been following the Kiwi Rock scene for a while now, you’ll be familiar with the names Silence The City, Quarter 2 and Broken Avenue. One of the main drivers behind these epic bands has been by groove-master Sam French.

In recent times Sam has made the big move from Auckland down to the weather-struck Hawkes Bay, and somehow through recent events, with his new act Say or Do has managed to pump out this wicked new single Awake, which is mixed and mastered by the guitarist of one of my favourite all time Kiwi rock bands based out of Los Angeles, Matt Brooks from Like A Storm.

Now it’s fair to say, I know Sam from way back as we kicked in around in the same muso circles for some time, even did a stint together in a band called Ubiquitous and we’ve certainly lost touch, but I have always admired the work he’s done. Getting to review this single is an absolute treat.

The blurb for Awake reads as ‘Awake describes the feeling of waking up for the first time following an epiphany or sudden realisation – allowing you to see the world in a new light.’ This strikes a chord with me as we start to get older and have families, these moments become more and more frequent. I’m stoked to hear that the sudden realisation isn’t one that has affected Sam’s ability to write insanely good music or change his direction too much. This track is strong & powerful, although not hugely heavy. It carries all the good roots of a raw rock tune, but with hugely bluesy undertones.

Anyone know has read a review by me knows I like to give you a hint of another band that I could associate sound-wise with the review, so in a desperate attempt to try and give you a glimpse into what the tune sounds like without hearing it, try and picture Daniel Johns (Silverchair) singing over Days Of The New, but maybe throw some Joe Bonamassa in there for good measure.

I am blown away by Sam's voice – I’ve only really ever known his backing vocals, but as a front man, it’s clear as day that’s where he deserves to be. Voices as gritty and powerful as his are rare. I’m glad he’s managed to showcase it in this awesome tune.

After hearing this, I’m expecting to hear a lot more from Say Or Do, and I wish Sam all the best getting these tunes in front of a tonne more listeners. He’s doing epic work and I can’t flaw it. You can check out more from them here: Say Or Do Facebook.

Available streaming from 31 March 2023, pre-save from 24th.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Say Or Do

Say Or Do, born with the debut EP Watching the World Pass By in 2013, began as a solo endeavor led by Sam French. Following a period of travel, Sam shifted gears, contributing his talents to hard rock with Silence The City, while Say Or Do took a backseat.

Fast forward to 2023, post-Sam's move to Hawke's Bay, and Say Or Do saw a revival. The release of Awake and Wasting My Time marked a shift from acoustic singer-songwriter vibes to a vibrant alternative rock sound.

Now, in 2024, Say Or Do is undergoing a significant transformation into a full-fledged band experience. The focus is set on live performances and fresh music releases. The goal is clear - to establish a regular presence on the live music circuit and introduce a dynamic array of new material.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Say Or Do

Releases

Watching The World Pass By
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Epitomised_Drummer

Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Unknown - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
View All Articles By Epitomised_Drummer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem