27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast

03 May 2022 // A review by Carl Hayman

Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should! This is one of my favourite local bands to come out of the New Zealand rock scene in recent years.

Their founding member and lead singer is a man by the name of JP Carroll who is probably one of the most talented musicians I know. 

Covid lockdowns have been extremely hard  on everybody, but I’d like to think that some good has come of this in less political terms, and by far my favourite thing to come from it has been JP’s solo project band Arrays.

This morning is my first spin of Array’s new track Forget Fast, so let's get this tune on and let rip.

First impression? Filth! but of the best kind. It’s dark, it’s loud, it’s offensive, it’s dissonant. It’s PERFECT! JP throws down some dirty as hell detuned Korn style guitar chords, followed by JP’s signature screaming vocals blending metal over the top of what could almost described as a pop-rock tune, but still so very far from it. JP’s drums over the top of it aren’t half bad either, in fact they are as good as anything I’ve heard from international artists. It’s got a very cool feel to it, he’s picked the timing perfectly at mosh tempo. If I close my eyes, I visualize a venue like when I saw the foo’s play Auckland Town Hall and the entire floor jumping up in down in sync with that solid kick drum.

To make this even more impressive, I dare say that it’s all been produced and mixed by JP himself which makes everything so much more impressive. The whole track is so angry its almost off the charts. Somehow JP has managed to capture all of this anger, drip feed it into a cauldron containing a concoction of all his musical talents, and the end result, is a brand new track that you absolutely MUST listen to.

If you’re feeling mixed about what's happening in this cold dark world right now, grab this tune and give it a spin, because those emotions that you’re feeling ARE Forget Fast.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll - the archetypal one man band. JP writes, performs and arranges the songs, records and produces the tracks, and even handles the mixes by himself. Music is his obsession, from writing a song, to mixing it and releasing it.

The new album Light Years is a tour de force of melodic, guitar heavy, metal-infused rock. This record is proudly independent, self produced and funded, and another way point on the journey JP is on to achieving the sound he hears in his head.

No Way Out presents a visceral, aggressive aspect of Arrays, driven by a palm muted riff, before the syncopated, stomping bridge lands. Little Blue Dot reveals a softer side, until the anthemic final chorus. Home is a twisted time capsule for our shared experience in lockdown, and the title track sets off the record with introspective lyrics and an arrangement big and wide enough to carry them.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Light Years
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem