23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Heavy Metal Ninjas - Interstellar Abduction Album Review

15 Oct 2013 // A review by Asmith

I don't even know where to begin with this. 2013 album of the year for me hands down. If there was a word to describe how this album makes me feel it would be something like rhgnvpqmfvujg.

There is so much going on here it's a little hard to describe. Djentstrumental maybe? An instrumental concept album with lashings of djent flavour and some Vai/ Satch styled sauce on top.

After hearing The Heavy Metal Ninjas EP for the first time I was blown away, in some small part because of the Kora boys being involved and it being so totally different to what I had previously heard from them, but that faded quickly in the realisation that HMN stands perfectly fine on one foot while kicking me in the earholes with the other foot. The new album Interstellar Abduction takes that feeling well above and beyond and (for me at least) firmly places HMN at the very pinnacle of NZ songwriting and musicianship.

A rollercoaster of dynamics, structures that could win architectural design awards, and waves of emotive and technical aural stimulation.

From the 2 part Propulsion to chilled tracks like Melodyk, hauntingly beautiful Green Spring, and of course let's not forget the already released single Design. There is NOTHING I do not like on this album except maybe when it's over, but then there is always repeat.

This is what the NZ music scene has been missing for so, so long. A band that can without a doubt take the international stage and destroy it Kiwi style. I'm REALLY looking forward to what's coming next from these guys and I can see it going a long, long way, I just hope I have time to recover from this album before they release another one or I may never be able to string a sentence together again.

Interstellar Abduction
View Track Listing
 

About Heavy Metal Ninjas

Heavy Metal Ninjas remain, as ever, all about the metal in 2015. With a highly anticipated new album out on Warner Music NZ and Grindhouse Records Japan, the four man, eight-legged HMN collective return stronger than ever.

“This album to me, is more about finding my inner self, as a composer, a guitar player and a person, discovering all these things has opened my mind to a new plane for writing my next album” - Richie Allan

As ever, the band are led by guitar virtuoso, Richie Allan, and their line-up is now augmented by fellow Ibanez-endorsed guitarist Brandon Reihana (ex Blindspott), which increases the guitar power in HMN by a full third.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Heavy Metal Ninjas

Releases

Interstellar Abduction
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Heavy Metal Ninjas
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem