5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Three Houses Down - Moon And Back EP review

13 Jun 2013 // A review by Asmith

If you were to listen to Three Houses Down for the very first time it would be easy to hear influences varying from Peter Tosh, UB40, Herbs as well as contemporary modern reggae and an island twist thrown in for good measure. If this doesn’t sound like you then move on, if it does sound like something you would be into then you are definitely in for a treat!

There are great vocal harmonies and melodies throughout and the overlapping musical melodies from all the different instrument sections, and there are 10 members so that’s a few sections, work amazingly together (which helped me through Sione’s Song which has no English in it so singing along was a no go for me, but still enough groove for me to get into it).

I really enjoyed the variance of tempos between songs as something a little different, it’s good to see these guys (who have been around nearly decade and are still pumping out hits like She’s My Woman ft. Spawnbreezie) being able to mix it up and show off the talent we have in New Zealand, and push their peers and fans alike to new heights.

There was a great mix of slow jams, pop orientated reggae, and an upbeat track called Sway (which happened to be my favourite of the whole album, maybe it was the sax solo that got me?) And after seeing the energetic stage performance these guys put on I’m looking forward to watching them perform these new tracks with the same high energy feel that those of us lucky enough to have seen them live before have enjoyed, here’s to another decade of irie music from New Zealand!

 

About Three Houses Down

Over the past decade, Three Houses Down have established themselves as one of New Zealand’s musical exports. With tours and success all over the world, along with a dedicated following at home, 2016 will see Three Houses Down release what is poised to be one of NZ’s finest reggae releases to date.

Three Houses Down was born in 2004 after brothers Rob, Sione and Charlie Pome’e left their previous band based three houses up the road from their parents’ home. While the previous ten years has seen several line-up changes, the driving force behind their desire to live their dreams has remained the same – family. “To be honest that is the secret to our band, a strong family foundation. It brings us back to ground level.”

The band’s style – a combination of their love for classical reggae and their Polynesian roots – has been crafted over countless live shows, and was put on display with their first two albums, Dreadtown (2007) and Breakout (2009). Both albums were huge successes both at home and abroad, with multiple Pacific Music Awards to their name, along with huge tours throughout Hawai’i and the United States.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Three Houses Down

Releases

Moon & Back
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Break Out
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Dreadtown
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem